Skip to content

Local Counties Chosen for FEMA Funding

Submitted by Penny Miles Clark, Knox, Schuyler and Scotland counties have been awarded federal funds under the Emergency Food and Shelter National Board Program. The source of funding is a federal appropriation from Congress to the Emergency Food and Shelter National Board Program. The National Board selects jurisdictions (cities or counties) for funding, not specific agencies. The federal department responsible for this program is the Department of Homeland Security’s Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA). These are not state/county government or United Way funds. The above counties have been chosen to receive $5,000. The selection was made by a State Set Aside Board that is chaired by the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and consists of representatives from the Salvation Army, American Red Cross, Council of Jewish Federations, Catholic Charities. USA, National Council of Churches of Christ in the USA and Untied Way of America. The Local Board was charged to distribute funds appropriated by Congress to help expand the capacity of food and shelter programs in High-need areas around the country. A Local Board made up of community representatives will determine how the funds awarded to the local FEMA Board are to be distributed among the emergency food and shelter programs run by the local service agencies in the area. The Local Board is responsible for recommending agencies to receive these funds and any additional funds available under this phase of the program. Under the terms of the grant from the National Board, local governments or private voluntary organizations chosen to receive funds must: 1) be private voluntary non-profits or units of government, 2) have an accounting system and conduct an annual audit, 3) practice nondiscrimination, 4) have demonstrated the capability to deliver emergency food and/or shelter programs, and 5) if they are a private voluntary organization, they must have a voluntary board. Qualifying organizations are urged to apply. The District 14 County jurisdiction has distributed Emergency Food & Shelter funds previously with Northeast Missouri Community Action Agency. Public or private voluntary agencies interested in applying for Emergency Food & Shelter Program funds must contact Penny Miles, Local FEMA Board Chairperson, PO Box 966, Kirksville, Mo 63501, telephone 660-665-9855. Deadline for application is November 22, 2013 @ 4:00 p.m.