Local race enthusiast Jon Fuller is pulling out all the stops as he gets set for his first taste as a track promoter next Thursday at Scotland County Speedway. The former driver is looking to make some noise at the Memphis race track as he prepares to gauge interest in a possible push to expand the future offerings at the speedway.

The United States Modified Touring Series will be returning to Memphis on August 17th as part of the national USMTS Hunt for the Casey’s Cup that will crown the 2017 champion and cap off more than $450,000 in prize money handed out during the 23-race chase with a $26,000 championship award.

“The USMTS will bring some of the biggest names in dirt track racing to Memphis for our fans enjoyment,” said Fuller. “I appreciate the Scotland County Fair Board giving me the opportunity to bring the series back to Memphis and I’m looking forward to discussing with them future possibilities to promote Memphis and possibly even bring back regular weekly racing at Scotland County Speedway.”

The promoter is helping kick off those efforts as one of the headline sponsors for Thursday’s races. J & J Ag is being joined by Pepsi, local Lewis Seed dealer Aaron Brewer and Walker Motors to bring the USMTS show to Memphis. The night will also featured Ironman B modifieds and Holley USRA stockcars for three classes of racing excitement.

Additional sponsors for the event include The Catfish Place, J’s Foods, Oberholtzer Plumbing, Scotland County Pharmacy, the Memphis Democrat, HammerMill Bar & Grill, Off Road Tire & Service Center, Community Bank of Memphis, Ridge Top Farm Supply, Keith’s Cafe, and Kay Eggleston Bookkeeping and Tax Service.

Hot laps will start at 7 p.m. with the green flag for the first heat race set to fall as 7:30 p.m.

With a $3,000 top prize for the USTMS modifieds, and $1,000 going to the winner of the B-mods and stockcars, the promotion team is expecting a large car count.

Grandstand admission is $20 for adults, $15 for senior citizens and $10 for kids age 6-14 with those five and under admitted free of charge. An early bird special is being offered for online ticket purchases at http://bit.ly/PepsiSpeedway. Advance online purchases will take off $5 for adult tickets and $3 for seniors and kids’ passes.

The youngsters will also be treated to a candy dash as well as bicycle giveaways during intermission.

The USMTS Hunt for the Casey’s Cup kicked off on August 3rd in Springfield, the first of a scheduled 23 races between now and Labor Day.

Scotland County Speedway will be stop #9, fitting since it is the ninth year the USTMS has made an appearance at the local track. The Hunt for the Cup will be in Webster City, IA the night before and will depart Memphis for the Lakeside Speedway on Kansas City, KS for a Friday night race. On Saturday the USTMS will hit Salina Highbanks Speedway on Pryor Creek, OK before returning to Kansas n Sunday at the 81 Speedway in Park City for the fifth straight night of Hunt for the Cup action.

The tour will then head north over the next three weeks, making stops in Minnesota, Iowa and South Dakota before the final USMTS points race of 2017 happens at the Deer Creek Speedway on Thursday, Sept. 21, for opening night of the 19th Annual Featherlite Fall Jamboree.

Stormy Scott captured the win at Humbolt Speedway on August 4th in the second race of the Hunt for the Cup to leap into  the lead in the standings. The Las cruces, NM driver has 541 points after two races to hold a slight advantage over Ryan Gustin (532 points) and Derek Ramirez (529). Opening night winner Tyler Wolff is in fourth with 516 points after the Arkansas driver bested the 45-car field at Springfield for his first career victory.

Mother Nature froze the standings there after a pair of rainouts over the weekend at Lucas Oil Speedway in Wheatland on Saturday and Monett Speedway on Sunday.

The Hunt for the cup will be at Brown County Speedway in Aberdeen, SD on August 9th; Red Cedar Speedway in Menomonie, WI on August 10th; Amsoil Speedway in Superior, WI on August 11th; Ogilvie Raceway in Ogilvie, MN on August 12th; and Mason City Motor Speedway in Mason City, IA on August 13th.

This year’s 24-race grind will take place in seven states throughout America’s heartland and will pay the champion $26,000 for his efforts. With 29 competitors earning points to kick off The Hunt, every driver that runs all of the races during the championship chase will take home at least $2,200 in points fund money. More than $100,000 in points fund cash is up for grabs, and that’s on top of more than $450,000 that will be doled out in prize money during The Hunt races.

Drivers qualifying for this year’s USMTS Hunt for the Casey’s Cup include Zack VanderBeek, Cade Dillard, Dereck Ramirez, Stormy Scott, Ryan Gustin, Jason Hughes, Joe Duvall, R.C. Whitwell, Adam Kates, Tyler Wolff, Travis Saurer, Chris Brown, Jake Timm, Mike Densberger, Ricky Thornton Jr., Jacob Bleess, Curt Myers, Trevor Egbert, Johnny Scott, Cory Crapser, Chris Clark, Lucas Schott, Zane DeVilbiss, Cory Mahder, Austin Arneson, Kyle Prauner, Lance Town and Terry Phillips.

The USMTS National Championship consists of three regions where drivers earn points to qualify for the USMTS Hunt for the Casey’s Cup. There are three ways to qualify for The Hunt: (1) The driver finishing first place in the region points will earn 20 points, second-place finishers will earn 19 points and so forth descending to 6 points for the 15th-place finisher; (2) Any driver with perfect attendance in a region will earn 10 points; (3) Drivers with a 20-race USMTS license will earn 10 points after competing in 20 regional events. The combined total shall be used to calculate the base points for each driver to begin The Hunt. Once all events in each region are complete and base points have been set, the USMTS points system will be used during The Hunt to determine the final USMTS points standings.

During The Hunt, points will be awarded in the “A” Main as follows: 1st – 100 points, 2nd – 95 points, 3rd – 91 points, 4th – 87 points, 5th – 84 points, 6th – 81 points, 7th – 78 points, 8th – 76 points, 9th – 74 points, 10th – 72 points, 11th – 70 points, 12th – 68 points, 13th – 66 points, 14th – 64 points, 15th – 62 points, 16th – 60 points, 17th – 58 points, 18th – 56 points, 19th – 55 points, 20th – 54 points, 21st – 53 points, 22nd – 52 points, 23rd – 51 points. All other drivers that start the “A” Main and finish below 23rd are awarded 50 points. All drivers that fail to qualify for the “A” Main are awarded 45 points. Each driver that leads at least one lap in the “A” Main earns one bonus point, and the driver that leads the most laps in the “A” Main earns two bonus points (tie goes to the highest-finishing driver).

To learn more about the United States Modified Touring Series, visit usmts.com or call 515-832-7944. You can also like us on Facebook, follow us on Twitter and Instagram, or subscribe to our YouTube channel. Keep up to speed with everything USMTS by joining our email list at usmts.com/subscribe.