Members of the SCR-I Elementary School Professional Learning Communities leadership team recently accepted an award on behalf of SCR-I, which was one of seven schools to be named Exemplary Professional Learning Communities School by the State Department of Elementary and Secondary Education. PLC team members are (L to R) Angie Cochran, Lori Bish, Erin Tallman, Jenny Bergeson, and Dawn Triplett.

Scotland County R-I Elementary School is being recognized for exemplary professional learning opportunities.

“The designation was made possible through the hard work and dedication of the entire staff at Scotland County Elementary and the Elementary Professional Learning Communities (PLC) leadership team,” said Superintendent Ryan Bergeson.

Missouri schools were to be honored during the 2019 Powerful Learning Conference for their commitment to professional learning opportunities for students. This year’s event was held January 28-29 at Tan-Tar-A Resort in Osage Beach, and more than 1,600 Missouri educators were expected to attend.

DESE assistant commissioner Chris Neale presented awards to nine schools that have been named Exemplary Professional Learning Communities Schools for promoting cultures focused on collaborative learning while effectively using data to increase student achievement.

“It is exciting to recognize these school leaders and teachers who are passionate about the long-term success of their students,” Commissioner of Elementary and Secondary Education Margie Vandeven said. “They rise to the occasion every day to ensure that our future generation continues to move Missouri forward.”

In addition to Scotland County R-I, 2018-19 Exemplary Schools included Cameron High School – Cameron R-I School District; Crocker High School – Crocker R-II School District; Laurence J. Daly Elementary School – Fayette R-III School District; Fulton Middle School – Fulton 58 School District; A.D. Stowell Elementary School – Hannibal 60 School District; Perryville Sr. High School – Perry County 32 School District; Helena Elementary School – Savannah R-III School District; and Westview Elementary School – Westview C-6 School District.

The Missouri Professional Learning Communities Project began during the 2003-04 school year. Supporting, preparing and developing effective educators is one of the priorities of Show-Me Success, Missouri’s strategic plan for education.

The SCR-I Elementary PLC leadership team includes Angie Cochran, Lori Bish, Erin Tallman, Jenny Bergeson, and Dawn Triplett. The team was scheduled to accept the award at the state conference on January 29th.