Newly elected members of the Scotland County R-I Board of Education Sidney Johnson and Christy Aylward are sworn into office by board member Cole Tipett.

The Scotland County R-I Board of Education met in regular session on Thursday, April 11, 2019, at 5:00 p.m. President Christy Aylward called the meeting to order with seven members present. Mr. Cole Tippett swore in Mrs. Christy Aylward and Mrs. Sidney Johnson to the board of education. Mrs. Trinity Davis was presented a plaque for her nine years of dedicated service to the Scotland County R-1 School Board.

The board elected new officers as follows: President – Christy Aylward; Vice President – Jamie Triplett; Secretary- Cole Tippett; Treasurer – Rhonda McBee; Parliamentarian – Sam Berkowitz

Consent Agenda

The board voted 7-0 to approve the following items on the Consent Agenda:

Minutes of March 14th meeting

MSBA Membership Dues

MSBA Updates

Overnight Request

Updated Sub List

Procedural Evaluations – Special Services and Community Education

Old Business

Financial Update

With the fiscal year is 75% complete, Superintendent Ryan Bergeson reported the district has received 86% of budgeted revenues year to date and has expended 71% of the budgeted expenses.

“At this point, we are operating with a fiscal year surplus of $1,007,147.79,” she said. “This surplus will begin to offset as revenue will begin to slow down and many budgeted expenditures remain as we near the end of the fiscal year.

Track Bids

The board voted 7-0 to accept the ATG bid for an all-weather track which includes the base bid of $559,855.00, alternate 1 for a long jump/triple jump of $19,000.00, and alternate 2 for an additional long jump/triple jump of $22,000.00 which totals $600,855.00

The board voted 7-0 to solicit bids for financing the All-Weather Track project balance that is not covered by the $232,060.00 Land Water Conservation Grant, in-kind donations, cash donations, and fundraising efforts.

Facility Projects

The board reviewed and discussed the updated short term and long term project goals.

New Business

Salary Committee

President Christy Aylward appointed Christy Aylward, Rhonda McBee, and George Koontz to the salary committee.

Parking Lot Maintenance

The board voted 7-0 to advertise for bid the maintenance of the High School and Elementary parking lots.

Fund 4 Transfer

The board voted 7-0 to accept the following transfer resolution: Be it resolved that the SCR-I School District transfer $264,638.00 of the allowable funds by law from the Incidental Fund to the Capital Projects Fund in order to build a balance in the Capital Projects Fund.

These transfer monies will be used for technology enhancement, building and grounds repairs, maintenance projects, athletic facility upgrades, purchasing of new equipment for the elementary and secondary schools. The aforementioned projects are to be completed on or before June 30, 2020.


The board voted 7-0 to approve the agreement with OASIS tutoring program.

May Board Meeting

The board voted 7-0 to set the May Board Meeting at 6:00 p.m. on Wednesday, May 8 in the High School Library.

Executive Session

In closed session the following items were approved:

March 8, 2018 closed session meeting. 7-0

Offer Contract to Hilary Rader as an Elementary Teacher for 2019-20 school year.

Offer extra duty contracts for following list of coaches: varsity baseball head coach – James Sears; varsity basketball head coach – Cory Shultz; junior high basketball 8th grade – Michael Moore; junior high basketball 7th and 8th grade – Lance Campbell; junior high 7th grade basketball – Megan Creek; varsity basketball assistant coach – Karri Feeney; varsity basketball assistant – Nathan Pippert; varsity cheerleading – Tia Hamilton; Dance/Pom varsity coach – Shelby McAfee; varsity football head coach – Troy Carper;  junior high football – Nathan Pippert; varsity football assistant – Logan Doty; varsity football assistant – James Sears; junior high football – Kody McCluskey; varsity golf – Michael Moore;  varsity scholar bowl – Nathaniel Orr; varsity softball – Kimberly Small; junior high softball Cory Shultz; varsity softball assistant – Megan Creek; junior high softball assistant – Michael Moore; varsity track & field – Jeremy Austin; varsity track & field – Troy Carper; junior high track & field – Lance Campbell; junior high track & field – Kimberly Small.

Hire the following non–certified staff for 2019-20; 7-0 – Alan Adams, Bobbie Anderson, Pat Arnold, Kim Campbell, Amy Carleton, Bryan Chance, Lydia Clatt, Schelle Cooley, Anna Dale, Kathy Dickerson, Danielle Eddleman, Alan Garrett, Shirley Green, Jasmine Hamner, Linda Hervey, Nancy Hirner, Penny Holt, Michella Hull, Lisa Humes, Andrea Hunt, Shellie Jackson, David Kittle, Amanda Long, Vicki Mauck, Faith Ann Miller, Amanda Mohr, Kristen Moore, Jana Muntz, Danny Norton, Chris Parsons, Les Richmond, Carol Rockhold, Don Ryland, Debbie Sears, Stephanie Shalley, Hannah Shultz, Jessica Spray, Serena Stott, Judy Thomas, Jennifer Tinkle, Angie Ward, Denny Ward, and Frank Wineinger

Allow permission to advertise for 2019 Summer Custodial Help.

The meeting adjourned at 8:42 p.m.