The Scotland County R-I Board of Education met in regular session on Thursday, April 12, 2018, at 6:00 p.m.  President Trinity Davis called the meeting to order with seven members present.  President Davis swore in Mr. Cole Tippet and Mr. Sam Berkowitz.  Mr. Gary Miller was presented a plaque for his 18 years of dedicated service to the Scotland County R-1 School Board.

The board elected new officers as follows: President – Christy Aylward; Vice President – Trinity Davis; Secretary- Cole Tippett; Treasurer – Jamie Triplett; and Parliamentarian – Sam Berkowitz

Financial Update

Superintendent Ryan Bergeson presented the monthly financial report for the district.

“The fiscal year is 75% complete,” he told the board. “We have received 85% of our budgeted revenues year to date and have expended 70% of the budgeted expenses.”

He reported the district is operating with a fiscal year surplus of $1,036,649.56.

“This surplus will begin to offset as revenue will begin to slow down and many budgeted expenditures remain as we near the end of the fiscal year,” he stated.

Facility Projects

The board voted 6-0-1 to accept the bid from Bleigh Construction to include the base bid, alternate 1, alternate 2 and alternate 2A for a total award of $1,225,000.00 for the new construction project.

The projects approved include a new 5,000 square foot addition to connect to the existing elementary and high school.  The addition will include early childhood classrooms, occupational and physical therapy space, special education, and an elementary library.  This also includes a new band room build-out of approximately 1,600 square feet in the existing vocational building, new metal siding, windows, and doors on the existing vocational building.

Sam Berkowitz abstained on the vote.

The board voted 7-0 to re-bid alternate 3, alternate 3A and alternate 4 for the new construction project.

Alternate 3 was for a new concrete foundation and slab for the connecting corridor between the high school and the vo-tech building, approximately 9 feet four inches wide by 30 feet in length.

Alternate 3A was the construction to enclose the corridor, walls, roof, doors and windows atop the foundation.

Alternate 4 was modifications to the vo-tech building restroom.

The board voted 7-0 to advertise for bid repair and replacement of the High school sidewalks.


The board voted 7-0 to enter into a Lease Agreement with Apple, Inc for $225,121.50 with an annual lease payment of $57,535.05 to purchase student iPads for the 2018-2019 school year.

The board voted 7-0 to accept the bid from CDI for $17,340.00 to buy back student laptops that will be replaced with the new Apple iPads.

Salary Committee

President Christy Aylward appointed herself, Rhonda McBee, and Trinity Davis to the salary committee.


The board voted 7-0 to accept the letter of retirement from Teresa Creek. She is retiring as the superintendent’s secretary after 30 years in education.


The board voted 7-0 to accept resignations from Melissa Miller, Lauren Ewing, Kim Campbell and Hannah Ross.

Parking Lot Maintenance

The board voted 7-0 to advertise for bid for the maintenance of the High School and Elementary parking lots.

Fund 4 Transfer Resolution

The board voted 7-0 to accept the following transfer resolution:  Be it resolved that the SCR-I School District transfer $257,817.00 of the allowable funds by law from the Incidental Fund to the Capital Projects Fund in order to build a balance in the Capital Projects Fund.  These transfer monies will be used for technology enhancement, building and grounds repairs, maintenance projects, athletic facility upgrades, purchasing of new equipment for the elementary and secondary schools.  The aforementioned projects are to be completed on or before June 30, 2019.

May Meeting

The board voted 7-0 to set the May Board Meeting at 5:00 p.m. on Wednesday, May 9.

Executive Session   

In closed session the following items were approved:

March 8, 2018 closed session meeting. 7-0

Offer Contract to Chasity Black as an Elementary Teacher 7-0

Offer Contract to Mariah Strange 7-0

Offer Contract to Trenton Tallman as the high school Learning Lab/CCE teacher, 7-0

Offer Extra Duty Contracts for following list of coaches/sponsors: 9-12 Chorus Activities –  Nathaniel Orr; Assistant Basketball Boys – Kyle Ellison; Assistant Basketball Girls – Karri Feeney; Assistant Football – Rod Sears; Assistant Football Coordinator – Kyle Ellison; Assistant Softball – Megan Creek; Ast. Baseball – Miller Bowles; Asst. Marching Band – Chanel Oliver; Athletic Director – Lance  Campbell; Band Activities-  Nathaniel Orr; Elementary Music – Chanel Oliver; FBLA – Jenna Ward; FCCLA            – Jenna Ketchum; FFA Sponsor – Waltedda Blessing; Flags            – Schelle Cooley; JH 8TH Girls  Basketball – Megan Creek; JH 7th Boys Basketball – Ryan Bergeson; JH 8th Boys Basketball – Nathan Pippert; Jr High Track       – Lance Campbell; Jr High  Track – Kim Small; Jr High Cheerleaders Football – Tia Hamilton; Jr High Football -Nathan Pippert; Jr High Football – Kody McCluskey; Jr High Softball – Michael Moore; Jr High Softball -Cory Shultz; Jr. High 7th Girls Basketball       – Michael Moore; Jr/Sr Golf – Michael Moore; Junior Class-2           – Jenna Ward; National Honor Society – Terri Slaughter and Kara Wickert; Pom Pom Sponsor – Shelby McAfee; Senior Class – Terri Slaughter;  V/JH Campus Bowl –  Nathaniel Orr; Varsity Basketball Boys – Lance Campbell; Varsity  Track -Troy  Carper; Varsity  Track – Melinda Briggs; Varsity Baseball –  Rod Sears; Varsity Basketball Girls – Cory Shultz; Varsity Cheerleaders football – Tia Hamilton; Varsity Football – Troy Carper; Varsity Softball – Kim Small.

Hire following non–certified staff for 2018-19:

Michella Hull, Judy Thomas, Bryan Chance, Denny Ward, Stephanie Shalley, Amanda Long, Linda Hervey, Kathy Dickerson, Lisa Humes, Hannah Bishop, Shirley Green, Penny Holt, Jana Muntz, David Kittle, Danny Norton, Jon Wullbrandt, Alan Adams, Les Richmond, Bobbie Anderson, Schelle Cooley, Serena Stott, Amy Carleton, Andrea Hunt, Faith Ann Miller, Angie Ward, Debbie Sears, Pat Arnold, Vickie Mauck, Pam Chance, Jennifer Tinkle, Amanda Mohr, Jessica Spray, Rob Egenberger, Chris Parsons, Kristen Moore, Hilary Rader, Lydia Clatt, Shellie Jackson, Don Ryland, Cali Smith, Nancy Hirner.

The meeting adjourned at 9:50 p.m.