Andrew Dalton was presented the Dail W. White Memorial Scholarship, by Doris White on May 10th, in the amount of $300. Andrew will be attending Truman State University, in Kirksville Missouri, this fall, to obtain a Major in Business Management and Minor in Accounting.

More than $100,000 in scholarships were awarded on May 10th at the annual Scotland County R-I High School Academic Awards Night as students were honored for their work in the classroom.

Senior Austin Day highlighted the honors with the announcement of an $18,000 scholarship from the University of Missouri. Fellow graduate Maddie Brassfield was honored for an $18,000 presidential scholarship she was awarded by Drake University.

Truman State University in Kirksville awarded a number of scholarships to SCR-I grads. Grant Campbell was offered $1,250 in the form of an A+ Recognition Scholarship, and Erlene Madsen TSU Foundation grant. Andrew Dalton will receive $4,025 combined from the Silas P. Stice Memorial Scholarship, A+ Recognition Scholarship, President’s Honorary Scholarship, and TruMerit Scholarship. TSU offered Sadie Davis $7,500 in scholarships including TruMerit Scholarship, President’s Honorary Scholarship, and A+ Recognition Scholarship while Day was offered $4,500 for A+ Recognition Scholarship, Preferred Family Health Foundation and TruMerit Scholarship. Other TSU awards went to Alex Hunolt; Riley Kliethermes ($4,000); Ian See ($5,000) and Ryan Slaughter ($1,750).

See was offered a $2,500 Provost Scholarship from Missouri State University while Campbell and Dalton received scholarships from Northwest Missouri State. Campbell, Slaughter, Kliethermes, Dalton and Hunolt all received scholarship offers from Missouri Western University as well.

Chase Cook was awarded a 2017 Foley Equipment Scholarship for $1,000 from State Technical College.

Moberly Area Community College offered renewable superintendent’s scholarships of $300 to Kiley Lewis and Liz Zahn.

Indian Hills Foundation Community Care Auxiliary Health Care Scholarship of $2000 went to Tricia Buford with an Occupational Therapy Club Scholarship of  $1200 offered to Travis Cunningham.

Northwest MO State presented $3,000 Tower Scholar awards to  McKaela Bradley, Tricia Buford and Caleb Manchester.

Will Pickerell received a Missouri Western University A+ Scholarship, and Dean’s Academic Scholarship ($1000). Manchester was offered an A+ Scholarship, and Governor’s Academic Scholarship ($2600) while Ariel Quenneville was offered the President’s Academic Scholarship ($3600), and Travis Shannan was offered Missouri Western A+ Scholarship ($1500).

Class of 2017 salutatorian Evan Hite was offered a $3,500 Trustees Scholarship from Missouri S&T and a University Scholarship of $2,000.

The Laverna Scholarship from Quincy University was offered to Alex Hunolt.

Elijah Cooley received an $8,500 scholarship package from UCM.

A number of local scholarships were also presented during the event. Four $250 American Red Cross Scholarships were awarded to Andrew Dalton, Ryan Miller, Evan Hite and Travis Shannan.

The Betty Rae Bondurant Future Educators Scholarships of $250 went to Abi Feeney and Kiley Lewis.

The Bulen Memorial Nursing Scholarship, to honor the memory of Robert A. Bulen, was given to Chelsea Wood.

Chester Robinson Memorial Scholarships of $1,000 were presented by Kyle and Kara Childress to Griffan Kerkmann and Tricia Buford.

The Community Bank of Memphis Scholarship of $500 went to Andrew Dalton.

The Dana Smoot VanMeter Memorial Scholarships of $450 each went to Tricia Buford, Travis Cunningham, Chelsea Wood, and Maddie Brassfield.

Epsilon Iota of Beta Sigma Phi presented three $300 scholarships to Evan Hite, Riley Kliethermes, and Ryan Slaughter. The Epsilon Iota Scholarship In Memory of Deanna Dunn went to Abi Feeney.

The Farm Bureau Scholarships of $250 was presented by David Jackson to McKaela Bradley, Sadie Davis, and Rebekah Duza. Ryan Miller was the recipient of the Gorin Alumni Scholarship.

The James Dalton Memorial Scholarship from Class of ’86 went to Duncan Carleton.

Eric and Erica Yarbrough present their uncle’s Jason Rockhold Memorial Scholarship to Ian See.

The J.P. & Mary Childers Environmental Scholarship of $500 went to Sadie Davis.

Calesse Bair was awarded the Leo & Arlean Paul Memorial Scholarship.

The MFA Foundation Scholarship of $2,000 went to McKaela Bradley

Memphis Funeral Home presented a $250 scholarship to Riley Kliethermes.

The Michael R. Myers Memorial $250 scholarship went to Chase Cook.

Austin Day was presented the Michael Wagner Memorial ($750).

National Defense Transportation Association’s St. Louis Chapter presented a $2,500 scholarship to Evan Hite, who also earned a $100 National Honor Society Scholarship.

The Patricia Hudnall Memorial award of $1500 went to Riley Kliethermes.

Chapter C of P.E.O. Scholarships were presented by Sandra Ebeling to Lacey Perrilles, Tricia Buford and MeKenzie Steeples.

Pepsi-Cola Bottling Company presented $250 awards to Justin McKee and Aaron Buford.

The Ruth and Jess Slavin Memorial Scholarship of $1,000 went to Abi Feeney

The Scotland County Antique Fair awarded $250 scholarships to Tricia Buford and Chase Cook while the Scotland County 4-H Scholarship went to McKaela Bradley.

Scotland County Rotary Club member George Koontz announced $500 awards for McKaela Bradley, Elijah Cooley, Abi Feeney, Evan Hite, MeKenzie Steeples, and Chelsea Wood while the Scotland County Rotary Club 4-way speech award of  $100 went to Cooley.

Scotland County Soil & Water District scholarships were presented by Duane Ebeling, to Chelsea Wood, Ariel Quenneville, and  Rebekah Duzan.

The Scotland County Teachers’ Fund gave $200 awards to Duncan Carleton, Grant Campbell, Alex Hunolt, and Aaron Blessing.

The Ted Riney Golf Scholarships of $250 went to Ian See and Ryan Slaughter.

Tom Coffrin Memorial Scholarship of $250 went to McKaela Bradley

For the past 20 years, Primrose Realty’s Boyd and Jeanie Bissell have given scholarships to numerous graduating students, most of them being from Scotland County R-1 High School. The memorial scholarships are proudly given in honor of their son Travis. He knew the importance of higher education and wanted all his friends to have the opportunity to attend college. Unfortunately, some were unable to do so because of finances, thus the reason for the memorial scholarships. This year’s recipients from the Scotland County R-1 High School Class of 2017 are McKaela Bradley, Maddie Brassfield, Sadie Davis, Rebekah Duzan, Abi Feeney, Alex Hunolt, Will Pickerell, and Ryan Slaughter. Boyd and Jeanie are proud to share this gift in honor of Travis and wish they could provide many more.

The Tucker-Bourne Memorial Scholarship was awarded to Will Pickerell.

US BANK Scholarships were awarded to Chelsea Wood and McKaela Bradley

the Chris & Cindy VanHoozen Memorial awards went to McKaela Bradley and Maddie Brassfield.

The VFW Post #4958 Auxiliary awarded scholarships to Ryan Slaughter, McKaela Bradley, Maddie Brassfield, and Lane Mohr.

The Wymon Lemmon Memorial, a four-year scholarship, was awarded to Andrew Dalton.

Xi Theta Tau of Beta Sigma Phi gave $300 awards to Evan Hite, Riley Kliethermes, Abi Feeney, and Ariel Quenneville.