Scotland County Associate Circuit Judge Karl DeMarce attended the 102nd  annual meeting and conference of the Missouri Association of Probate and Associate Circuit Judges that took place recently at Osage Beach, Mo.

The MAPACJ provides continuing legal education for its members at the three-day conference. Membership is open to all state judges and commissioners in Missouri’s 46 judicial circuits. Among the nearly 200 judges and commissioners registered were judges from the Missouri Supreme Court and Court of Appeals.

At the organization’s business meeting, the officers and board of directors for the coming year were elected, with Judge Scott T. Horman of Scott County to serve as president. The vice-president will be Judge Corey K. Herron of Atchison County. Judge Tracey A. Mason-White of Sullivan County was elected Secretary/Treasurer and Judge Jalilah Otto, Jackson County, was elected Historian. Elected to the Board of Directors were Judges Elizabeth Bock, Douglas County, Deborah Daniels, Boone County, Dennis C. Eckold, Platte County, Robin E. Fulton, Madison County, Gregory B. Gillis, Jackson County, Mike Greenwell, Shelby County, W. Ann Hansbrough, Platte County, Joseph L. Hensley, Jasper County, Scott A. Lipke, Cape Girardeau County, Kelly L. Lovekamp, Schuyler County, Mark A. Styles, Jr., Jackson County, and Michael S. Wright, Warren County.

This year’s conference included educational programs on probate issues, technology in the courts, access for the limited English proficient, forensic search warrants, expert witnesses, family law issues, landlord tenant, ethics, search and seizure and driver’s license issues.

Judge DeMarce has served as associate circuit judge for Scotland County since 1999. He is a past president of the Association.

For further information, contact Tracey A. Mason- White, (660) 265-3303.