Ryan Slaughter was named to the Tri-Rivers First Team All Conference as both a defensive back and a kick return specialist.

Ryan Slaughter was named to the Tri-Rivers First Team All Conference as both a defensive back and a kick return specialist.

The 2015 season was the finale for the Tri-Rivers Conference and the Scotland County football program bid adieu to the league with a second place finishing in the final standings. The Tigers didn’t leave empty handed, as four SCR-I players were honored by the league coaches as first team all conference performers.

Despite splitting time at the position, SCR-I’s Aaron Buford was tabbed as the conference’s top quarterback.

The junior was switched to tailback early in the year before being called up again as the signal caller when Will Fromm went down with a broken collar bone.

Buford completed 70 of 160 passes for 1,066 yards and 11 TDs. He also ran the ball 126 times for 752 yards and nine touchdowns.

Ian See earned first team honors at wide receiver after hauling in 22 passes for 325 yards and three scores. Hayden Miller from Knox County was the unanimous pick for the other receiver award.

Will Pickerell was a unanimous selection for first team honors on the offensive line, joining unanimous picks Skyler Sullens and Zach Boatman of Knox County, Michael Anders of Schuyler County and Derrick Sylvester of Milan.

Aaron Buford and Will Pickerell were both First Team selections on offense.

Aaron Buford and Will Pickerell were both First Team selections on offense.

The first team backfield consisted of unanimous pick Sabastian Grant of Schuyler County along with Andrew Hodge of Knox County and Jaidyn Watts of Milan.

Randall McCarty of Knox County was the unanimous selection at tight end.

On the defensive side of the ball, SCR-I had just one first teamer, Ryan Slaughter. The junior defensive back finished the year with 73 tackles and six interceptions.

Slaughter was a unanimous pick as the league’s top kick return specialist. He averaged 26 yards per punt return, including a pair of touchdowns, prompting most teams to kick out of bounds to avoid him. Slaughter also took one kick off back for a touchdown, averaging 19.7 yards on kickoff returns.

The first team defense was all unanimous selections. The line consisted of McCarty and Brandon Schrage of Knox County, Gus Valentine of Putnam County and Sylvester.

First team linebackers were Hodge, Watts, Tanner Bondy of Putnam County and Braxton Shaw of Schuyler County.

Defensive backs joining Slaughter were Grant and Lane Couch of Knox County.

Eric Moreno of Milan was tabbed the top kicker while Wyatt Bohle of Milan and Will Fromm of Scotland County shared the first team punter award.

Conference champions Knox County took home the league’s most valuable player and coach of the year awards with Alex Van Delft winning the COY honor and Hodge being named the 2015 TRC MVP.

Six Tigers earned second team TRC honors.

Slaughter was recognized as second team receiver. He tied with See for second on the team with 22 receptions (Gage Dodge led the team with 23 catches). Slaughter piled up a team-high 418 yards and eight receiving touchdowns.

Jade Holt earned second team honors at tight end. He had 19 receptions for 310 yard and four TDs. He also rushed the ball 28 times for 155 yards and two scores.

Bryson Orton earned second team honors on the offensive line. The sophomore was joined by Austin Perkins of Putnam County, Chad Stice of Schuyler County, Schrage and Jon Coronado of Milan.

Second team quarterback was Nickolas Edwards of Knox County. The running backs were Shaughn Malcarne of North Shelby, Hunter Klocke of Knox County and Bondy.

Justin Pribyl of Putnam County was the other receiver honored.

On the defensive side of the ball, Will Pickerell earned the nod at defensive end. Aaron Blessing was honored at linebacker. The junior led the SCR-I defense with 103 tackles on the year.

The rest of the defense included Tim Jones and Skyler Sullens of Knox County, and Valentine on the line; linebackers Klocke, Ethan Herzberg of Milan and Lane Kemp of North Shelby; and Miller, Clavin Heidenwith and Bohle at defensive backs.

Gage Dodge earned second team honors at kicker. He made 18 of 21 extra point kicks.

Grant was named second team punter and Miller was the second team return specialist.