The April ballot is shaping up to be pretty uneventful for Scotland County voters as a vast majority of races will be uncontested in the spring election.

Filing for local boards and city councils officially closed on Tuesday, January 16th without much activity.

Four incumbents were the lone candidates to sign up for the City of Memphis election. Filing for re-election were City Marshal Bill Holland, Mayor William Reckenberg, East Ward Alderman Tom Glass and West Ward Alderman Chris Feeney.

While there will be one member of the Scotland County R-I Board of Education retiring, the district will not host an official election as there were only two candidates to file for the two open seats on the board.

Incumbent Cole Tippett filed for another term. Former board member Sam Berkowitz was the lone other candidate to file. he will fill the vacancy left by Gary Miller, who did not seek another term.

The Scotland County Hospital Board of Directors features a similar story. Incumbent Dwight DeRosear was the lone candidate to file for the District #4 seat. As he is unopposed, the district issue will not be on the April ballot.

The Scotland County Nursing Home District and the Consolidated Public Water Supply District #1 are two other entities which will not have a ballot issue in April due to unopposed races.

Kim McCluskey filed for re-election for District #5 of the Scotland County Care Center Board of Directors. Tara Shultz was the lone candidate to file for the District #6 vacancy as incumbent Kathy Miller will not seek re-election.

Incumbents Tonya Bradley  and Jan Slayton filed for re-election to serve District #2 and 33 respectively for the rural water board.

Rutledge and Arbela will join Memphis on the April ballot with municipal election races.

Arbela voters will be asked to enter at least one write-in candidate as only two candidates filed for the three vacancies on the board of trustees. Dennis Giberson and Gordon Wiley will seek new two-year terms.

Rutledge will have five candidates on the ballot seeking to fill three vacancies on the city’s governing board. Voters will choose from Laveta Comstock, Dale Haldeman, Garrett Heck, Barbara Moore and Lewis Powell.

The City of Gorin’s filings had not been submitted to the county clerk’s office as of press time.

The Scotland County Health Department will have a county-wide ballot issue as four candidates have filed for three positions on the board. Incumbents Pattty Freburg and Dee Wiley will seek re-election on the ballot along with Cindy Justice and Robert Parrish. Sue Payne did not re-file.

The Scotland County Ambulance District will also be on the ballot as two candidates filed for the District #4 vacancy, Voters will choose between Nancy Kapfer and Frank Wineinger. Incumbent Stacy Alexander did not seek re-election. Incumbent Jamie Triplett was the lone candidate to file in District #1.