The filing period for the April 5th election officially came to a close on January 19th with just a pair of races to be answered by local voters while the majority of local boards won’t even been on the ballot due to no competition.

The Scotland County R-I Board of Education election will be on the ballot as will as the Scotland County Hospital Board election, to go along with Memphis, Granger, Arbela, Gorin and Rutledge town board elections (municipalities are exempt from the rule that allows boards not to host an election if there are no contested races).

Incumbents Trinity Davis and Christy Aylward filed for re-election to the SCR-I School Board. Sherryl Davis also filed for the board of education as the trio will vie for two vacant seats.

Former Scotland County Hospital CEO Marcia Dial filed for the vacant District #2 seat on the SCH governing board. She will be facing Lori Fulk, who also filed for the District 32 seated vacated by Barb Blomme.

The ambulance, nursing home and rural water districts will not have elections since there are no contested races. Jamie Robinson and Robert Moseley refiled to serve Districts #4 and #5 respectively. Board members Stacy Westhoff (District#5) and David Long (District #2) will continue to serve the ambulance district after no one filed to oppose them on the April ballot. The same can be said for incumbents Ron Alexander and Tom Deberry on the Scotland County Care Center Board of Directors.

The City of Memphis will have a ballot, but all races are uncontested. Incumbent William Reckenberg is the lone candidate for mayor, while Alderman Tom Glass (East Ward) and Chris Feeney (West Ward) also have no opposition on the ballot for re-election. Jobe Justice was the lone filer for the one-year unexpired term for west ward alderman created by the resignation of Mike Gundy.

Voters in Arbela will have just two candidates on the ballot to fill three seats on the five-member board of trustees. Incumbents Patricia A. Johnson and Dennis Giberson both filed for re-election.

Rutledge has three candidates for three vacancies. Incumbents Keith Zimmerman and Pat Powell filed for re-election. Dale Haldeman filed for the seat being vacated by David Herr.