Category Archives: COMMUNITY

Area Students Named to MU Dean’s List

Written on June 20, 2017 at 9:34 pm, by

Several area students were named to the University of Missouri spring semester 2017 dean’s list. Kathryn Mary Howard of Memphis has been named to honor roll. Howard is a senior student. Samantha Rachel Tobler, a senior, was named to the 2017 dean’s list for the spring semester. Jaclyn Wiggins, a junior student in the arts and science […]

Memphis Red Hats Meet at Keith’s Cafe

Written on June 20, 2017 at 6:45 pm, by

The Memphis Red Hats met on Wednesday, June 7th at Keith’s Café.  Hostess Barb Creath gave a reading about veterans followed by funny experiences of people. Those attending were Vera Monroe, Nancy Eaves, Jean Walker, Shirley Ruth, Marlene Cowell, JoAnn Rood, Nelda Billups, Benjie Briggs, Pat Wiggins, Barb Creath, Marcine Evans and guest, Conner Wiggins. […]

SC Fair Adds Little Miss, Junior Miss Contests to 2017 Lineup

Written on June 20, 2017 at 6:13 pm, by

The Scotland County Fair is pleased to announce the addition of the Little Miss and Junior Miss Contests to the Scotland County Fair this year! Organizers are looking for young girls ages 10 to 12 (by July 10, 2017) to enter the Little Miss contest and girls ages 13 to 16 (by July 10, 2017) […]

Bethany Mullinix Receives D.O. Degree

Written on June 20, 2017 at 5:37 pm, by

On Saturday, May 6, 2017, Bethany Ranee Mullinix, D.O. was among the 124 students who received their Doctor of Osteopathic Medicine (D.O.) degree from Ohio University Heritage College of Osteopathic Medicine (OUHCOM) in Athens, OH.  Dr. Mullinix is part of the 37th class to graduate from OUHCOM, whose mission is to train Osteopathic primary care […]

Scotland County Area Moving On Will Meet June 27th

Written on June 20, 2017 at 4:19 pm, by

The Scotland County Area Moving on Program will hold their monthly meeting on Tuesday, June 27, 2017 at noon.  The meeting will be held at the Methodist Church and we will be having an early 4th of July antless picnic in the cool church basement.  Please bring your favorite picnic food. Also, please call Nelda […]

Cedar Grove Club Meets at RCF

Written on June 20, 2017 at 4:17 pm, by

The Cedar Grove Club met on Wednesday, June 14, 2017 at the Residential Care Facility of Scotland County Care Center.  Virginia Woods was hostess.  Lunch was sub sandwiches from Casey’s provided by Virginia and Cheesecake provided by Peggy Cumby. After lunch the meeting was called to order.  Present were Betty Bissell, Grace Brown, Christine Musgrove, […]

Harley Stone Graduates From UCM 

Written on June 20, 2017 at 4:12 pm, by

Area residents were among the more than 1,000 individuals who were eligible to participate in the University of Central Missouri’s 2017 spring commencement exercises May 5-6 in the university’s Multipurpose Building. Students who completed their degree requirements by the end of the spring 2017 semester were honored at the event. Harley D. Stone of Memphis […]

Tobler, Trabue Announce Wedding Date

Written on June 20, 2017 at 4:05 pm, by

Shannon Renee Tobler, daughter of Dr. Randy and Heliene Tobler of Memphis, MO, and Tracy Neal Trabue, son of Everett Trabue and Debra Trabue of Mexico, MO, will marry in October 2017 at the Tobler’s family farm in Macon, MO. Shannon is a 2009 graduate of Scotland County R-I, and graduated from the University of […]

SCR-I Band to Perform in 2018 National Memorial Day Parade in Washington D.C.

Written on June 13, 2017 at 6:57 pm, by

The Scotland County R-I Board of Education unanimously approved a proposed band trip to Washington D.C. over Memorial Day, 2018. The American Veterans Center and Music Celebrations International has invited the Scotland County Marching Tigers Band from Memphis, to be a representative of Missouri in the 2018 National Memorial Day Parade in Washington, D.C. Band […]

Scotland County Elementary School Releases 4th Quarter Honor Roll

Written on June 13, 2017 at 4:15 pm, by

The Scotland County R-I Elementary School has released the honor roll for the 4th quarter for the 2016-17 school year. Named to the A honor roll in Class 3A were Austin Ambrose, Dane Blessing, Jordin Clark, Lillian Frederick, Ryan Harvey, Sadie Jackson, Kahlee Justice, Drayven Koser, Carman Robinson, Haven Stoddard and Letha Ward. Named to […]