The Scotland County R-I Board of Education met in regular session on Thursday, April 14, 2016, at 6:30 p.m.  President Sam Berkowitz called the meeting to order.

The board voted 7-0 to certify the April 5th election results as follows:

Trinity Davis – 748 Scotland County votes, 5 Clark County votes for a total of 753; Christy Aylward – 736 Scotland County votes, 5 Clark County votes for a total of 741; and Sherryl Davis -381 Scotland County votes, 3 Clark County votes for a total of 384 votes.

The board elected new officers as follows: President – Trinity Davis; Vice President – Christy Aylward; Secretary – Cole Tippett; Treasurer – Jamie Triplett; Parliamentarian – Sam Berkowitz

Financial Update

Superintendent Ryan Bergeson reported that the fiscal year is 75% complete.

“We have received 87% of our budgeted revenues year to date and have expended 70% of the budgeted expenses,” he told the board. “At this point, we are operating with a fiscal year surplus of $1,225,903.  This surplus will begin to offset as revenue will begin to slow down and many budgeted expenditures remain as we near the end of the fiscal year.”

Bond Issue

The board of education discussed the election results and feedback from the public.  The board voted 7-0 to have a special board meeting on May 2nd at 6:30 p.m. in the Elementary Art Room to review survey results and to discuss facility projects.

Public feedback on the failed Proposition 2 can be offered through a brief online survey at

Procedural Evaluations

The board voted 7-0 to accept the Community Education Procedural Evaluation presented by Mr. Stott & Mr. Pippert and 7-0 to approve the Gifted Education as presented by Ms. Blaine.

Salary Committee

President Trinity Davis appointed Christy Aylward, Jamie Triplett, and Trinity Davis to the salary committee.


The board voted 7-0 to accept resignations from Joy Alexander, Tom Fender, Trey Lehman, Carol McCabe, and Elaine Forrester.

Graduation Policy

The board reviewed and discussed the graduation policy.  No action was taken.

Technology Proposal

The board reviewed a technology proposal from Quality Network Solutions.  No Action was taken.

May Meeting Date

The board voted 7-0 to reschedule the May Board meeting for Tuesday, May 10 due to scheduling conflicts

Executive Session   

In closed session the board approved the March 10, 2016 closed session meeting minutes by a 7-0 vote.

The following contracts were offered:

Rodney Sears for high school mathematics (7-0 vote); Tyler Krietemeyer for junior high social studies (7-0); Dane Riggenbach for high school English (7-0); and Jennifer Kauth for Early Childhood (7-0).

The Board voted 5-2 to offer a contract for the Elementary School principal position to  Erin Tallman. Gary Miller and Jamie Triplett voted no. The board set the elementary principal salary at $58,000 for a one year term.

The following extra duty contracts were approved by a 7-0 vote: Junior Class 2 – Ryan Anderson; FFA Sponsor     – Walteddn Blessing; Pom Pon Sponsor- Marie Brown;  Athletic Director         , Jr. High  Track            and Varsity Boys Basketball – Lance Campbell; Assistant Football Coordinator, Varsity  Track – Troy Carper; Freshmen Class -Marc Colvin; Flags – Schelle Cooley; Jr. High 8th Grade Girls Basketball, Varsity  Track – Lauren Ewing; Junior Class 2 – Dana Donaldson; Varsity Baseball, Varsity Football -Mikel Gragg,; FCCLA, Student Council – Jenna Ketchum; Jr. High Football – Tyler Krietemeyer; V/JH Campus Bowl – Billie Lanham; Jr. High Football, Sophomore Class – Kody McCluskey, Assistant Softball, Jr. High 7th & 8th Grade Boys Basketball – Michael Moore; Elementary Music     Chanel Oliver; 9-12 Chorus Activities, Band Activities – Nathaniel Orr; V/JH Campus Bowl, Drama – Dane Riggenbach; Assistant Football – Rod Sears; Varsity Girls Basketball, Varsity Softball – Cory Shultz; National Honor Society, Senior Class – Terri Slaughter; Jr. High  Track, Jr. High Softball – Kimberly Small; National Honor Society – Kara Wickert.

The meeting adjourned at 11:35 p.m.