January 9, 2014

Gorin High School Alumni Host 58th Annual Banquet

The 58th annual Gorin Alumni Banquet was held Saturday October 12, 2013 at the Gorin School gymnasium. The doors opened at 4:30 p.m. with coffee available for alumni, guests and friends to enjoy visiting before the meal.

Gary Thomas welcomed everyone and then the Pledge of Allegiance was led by alumni Don Tague. Allen Fitzgerald gave the blessing for the lovely meal catered by Western’s Smokehouse. The honored classes of 1963, 1943 and 1953 started the alumni thru the food line. After the delicious meal a film presentation honoring our Alumni Veterans prepared by Donna Tague Bailey was enjoyed by all.

President Gary Thomas then called the meeting to order and announced that minutes of last year’s meeting prepared by Reta Musgrove Stott and Treasurer’s report prepared by Ronnie Boyer were placed on the tables for alumni review. Motion was made to accept these reports. Loyd Gordy seconded it, voted on and carried.

There was no old business. New business, it was reported approximately 170 people were present. It was asked for nominations for new officers. It was decided to keep the same officiers for next year except for secretary. Officers for next year are as follows: President: Gary Thomas, Secretary: Linda Carol Norton Davison, Treasurer: Ronnie Boyer, and Board Members: Elaine Ewing Forrester, Reva Kraus Triplett, Vicki Miller Dodge, Debbie Shultz Thomas, Brenda Buford Eckland and JoAnn Newman Augspurger.

Discussion was held about the Gorin school closing. A letter was read from the Gorin School about the closing. A date of June 14, 2014 was mentioned as closing date. Discussion was held about what to do with the pictures and alumni items. A Thank You note was received from our Alumni Scholarship winner, Megan Creek. She will be attending Culver Stockton College.

Several memorials were given in honor of different alumni - $10 in honor of Alberta McNamer, $25 in honor of Tom Colton, Charlie Gilmer, Gary Swearingen, Linda Kay McManis Lough, $60 in honor Tom Colton, $250 in honor of Tom Colton, $500 in honor of Tom Colton and Charlie Gilmer and a $25 undesignated donation.

President Gary Thomas then called the roll call by graduation years, oldest to youngest. Allen and Louise Shriver Fitzgerald remembered our alumni who departed this life in the past year with a special memorial moment. They were: Madeline Rickeburg Shacklett (1937), Madeline Monroe Ewing (1939), Martha Davis Ware (1939), Harley Erickson (1940), Paul Eldon Kutzner (1945), Mable Swearingen Rossoe (1947), Allen Calvert (1951), Carrol Pulliam (1951), Alberta James McNamar (1959), Dennis (Buddy) Pipes (1959), Tom Colton (1963), Donald Miller (1965), Eddie Heckethorn (1973).

The 50 year class of 1963 was honored and those present were: Steve Oliver, Kenny Mayfield, Fred Curtis, Linda Garmon Gilmer, Sandra Gilmer Stout, Kay Kiefer Brillhart, Gurden Tague and Jim White. Each one introduced theirselves and told a little about their lives. The 70 year class of 1943 had four present: Grace Tague Brown, Virginia Chambers Woods, Don Tague and Francis Swearingen. The 60 year class of 1953 had two present: Bob Brown and Tom Priebe.

President Gary Thomas then thanked all the committees for their help. They are as follows: Registration: Judy Hustead Boyer and Ronnie Boyer; Mailing: Donna Tague Bailey and Sherrill Tague Clatt; Gift and Decorating: Elaine Ewing Forrester, Reva Kraus Triplett and several other alumni ladies helped; Coffee Table Committee: Elaine Ewing Forrester; Table committee: Gary Thomas, George Egbert, Ronnie Boyer and Paul Tague; and Memorial: Allen and Louise Shriver Fitzgerald.

Elaine Ewing Forrester gave table decorations to the oldest one at each table. Then Elaine shared a few funny stories with everyone which all enjoyed.

President Gary Thomas thanked everyone for coming and hoped to see everyone again next year. Meeting was adjourned.

Those attending were: Verlee Chambers Dauma, Patricia Coffrin, Doris Arnold Atwater and Bill Atwater, Eilene Huckey Findley, Grace Tague Brown, Francis Swearingen, Tony Swearingen and Cindy Deachan, Don Tague, Virginia Chambers Woods and Ivan Woods, Eugene and Norma Wright Hustead, Hollis Boyer, Vicky Ward, Bruce Tague, Lotus Wright Norton, Lucille Hill Triplett, Loyd and Louise Gordy, Margaret Smock Shibley and Harlan Crandall, Ruth Tague, Lois Calvert Humes, Joe B Humes, Kathy Blythe, Johanna Peterson Steele and Orville Steele, Janis Dieterich Theel and Jeanne Dandrea, Vera Tague Crandal, Mary Anna Egbert Troutman and Don Troutman, Bob and Diane Brown, Thomas Priebe, Shelly Boyer, George Egbert, Johnny and Georgia Erickson, Ronnie and Judy Hustead Boyer, Hazel Cunningham Bradley, Patty Egbert Golbricht, Dean and Beverly Tibbs, Oren and Celina Laverty Erickson, Gary Thomas and Sharon Grove, Kenny and Sherrill Tague Clatt, Allen and Louise Shriver Fitzgerald, Sharon Pence Thomas, Betty Boyer Lakin and Dean Lakin, Larry and Rosie Miller, Carol Lynn Hartman Williams and Chuck Williams, Patty Colton Howard and Cheri Adams, Judy Noble Bradley and Bob Garrett, Joyce Noble Harvey and Joe Eddie Harvey, Linda Tague Brown, Jane Price Clark and Dave Clark, Beverly Janssen Dieterich, Brenda Buford Eckland, Barbara Jones Ruth and Dale Ruth, Murl and Brenda Simler, JoAnn Newman Augspurger and Bill Augspurger, Rollie Dorsey, Linda Carol Norton Davision, Kay Kiefer Brillhart, Linda Garmon Gilmer, Gurden and Dana Tague, Jim White, Fred Curtis, Kenny Mayfield, Steve Oliver, Sandra Gilmer Stout, Elaine Ewing Forrester and Sterling Forrester, Janet Smith Swann, Alan and Barbara Kiekel Swearingen, Reva Kraus Triplett and Lonnie Triplett, Ronnie White, Louise Daniels Harris and Chipper Harris, Robert and Mary Jane Kiefer, Dean and Marsha Austin Davis, Nancy Tague Platz, Connie Ward and Ray Ward, Peggy Parsons Cumby, Vicki Miller Dodge and John Dodge, Linda Peterie Hymes, Bonnie Kiekel Stickler, John and Donna Davis Austin, Donna Tague Bailey, Larry Daniels, Mary Jo Morris, Cecil Parsons, Billy and Rhonda Davis, June Kice, Mary Lou Tague Kraus and Dennis Kraus, Mark and Dana Musgrove Glasscock, Christine Musgrove, Kathie Clark McPherson and John McPherson, Dorothy Clark, Betty Jean Tague Bissell and Stanley Bissell, Reta Musgrove Stott and Clifton Stott, Donna Kiefer McNamar, Duane and Sandy Arnold, Randy and Kim Rockhold, Haleigh Rockhold, Ronnie and Sandy Kiekel, Sherry Findley McMillen and Sandy Symons, Mike Parrish, Jan Ebling Howell, Ann Ebling Shaw and Leon Shaw, Jamie Shaw, Dale and Judy Musgrove, Paul Tague, Gordon Matlock, Janet Erickson, Deidra Musgrove, MaKenna and Paxton Musgrove, Beverly Calvert and Ron and Jenna Calvert, Roger and Moreen Holton, Leslie Taylor, Curtis Taylor, Mona Tague, Jerry and Helen Wright, LeAnn Carl, Candy Humes, Patty Herring Arnold and Gary Arnold and Jack Smock.

Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » appearance » Widgets » and move a widget into Advertise Widget Zone