August 22, 2013

Scotland County Added to Missouri Disaster Declaration

KANSAS CITY - Scotland County is now eligible for federal assistance from the severe storms, straight-line winds, tornadoes and flooding that occurred during the period of May 29, 2013, to June 10, 2013.

Scotland County joins the 27 previously declared Missouri counties eligible for FEMA Public Assistance, which may include assistance for emergency work and the repair or replacement of disaster-damaged facilities.

On July 19th, The U.S. Department of Homeland Security's Federal Emergency Management Agency announced that federal disaster aid was being made available to the State of Missouri to supplement state and local recovery efforts in the area affected by the severe storms.

At that time federal funding was made available to state and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by the severe storms, straight-line winds, tornadoes, and flooding in Barton, Callaway, Cape Girardeau, Chariton, Clark, Howard, Iron, Knox, Lewis, Lincoln, Maries, Marion, Miller, Montgomery, Osage, Perry, Pike, Putnam, Ralls, Shelby, St. Charles, St. Louis, Ste. Genevieve, Stoddard, Sullivan, Texas, and Webster counties.

All counties in the State of Missouri are eligible to apply for assistance under the Hazard Mitigation Grant Program. Hazard Mitigation assistance may enable counties to implement measures to prevent or reduce long-term risk to life and property for natural hazards, before a disaster strikes.

Key federal disaster aid programs that can be made available as needed and warranted under President Obama's disaster declaration issued for the State of Missouri can include:

Payment of not less than 75 percent of the eligible costs for removing debris from public areas and for emergency measures taken to save lives and protect property and public health. Emergency protective measures assistance is available to state, tribal and eligible local governments on a cost-sharing basis.

Payment of not less than 75 percent of the eligible costs for repairing or replacing damaged public facilities, such as roads, bridges, utilities, buildings, schools, recreational areas and similar publicly owned property, as well as certain private non-profit organizations engaged in community service activities.

Payment of not more than 75 percent of the approved costs for hazard mitigation projects undertaken by state and local governments to prevent or reduce long-term risk to life and property from natural or technological disasters.

Application procedures for local governments has been explained at a series of federal/state applicant briefings in the affected area by recovery officials.

Approved public repair projects are paid through the state from funding provided by FEMA and other participating federal agencies.

Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » appearance » Widgets » and move a widget into Advertise Widget Zone