January 31, 2013

Ballots Take Shape as Filing Officially Closes

The polling is still months away but the ballots for the April 2nd election have taken shape as the filing period for local municipal offices and public governing boards came to a close last week.

Four candidates have filed for the two available seats on the Scotland County R-I Board of Education. Incumbent Trinity Davis filed for re-election. She will be joined on the ballot by Christy Aylward, Michelle Kleine and Matt Buford. Current board member Fred Clapp did not file for reelection.

A write-in candidate will fill at least one spot on the Gorin R-III Board of Education. Incumbents Ryan Miller and Rhonda Peterson filed for re-election. Bob Sears, who was appointed to fill a vacancy on the board, filed for election for the remaining year of the three-year term. Voters will fill a second one-year term created by a resignation. No candidates filed for this seat.

In the City of Memphis, incumbent Allen Creek filed for reelection in the West Ward. In the East Ward, incumbent Lucas Remley will be seeking reelection. He is opposed on the ballot by Scott Goff.

Neither the local hospital or ambulance board will be required to have a ballot issue, as there will be no opposed races.

Incumbents Stacey Westhoff and Jan Meeks both filed for reelection for the governing board for the Scotland County Ambulance District.

That was the case for the Scotland County Hospital Board of Directors. Incumbents Barbara Blomme, Charlie Boyer and Judy Wilson all filed for reelection.

Wilson serves as Director for the Fifth District of Scotland County Memorial Hospital District political sub-division, which consists of: the Johnson Township, all of Union Township and Miller Township.

Blomme represents District Two, which consists of all of rural East and West Jefferson Township. She was appointed to fill the position upon the resignation of Joe McVeigh in April of 2012. She will serve the remaining three years of that term.

Charlie Boyer will continue to represent District Three, consisting of Thompson Township outside the city limits, and all of rural Harrison Township. He was appointed to fill the position upon the resignation of Hollis Boyer in January last year. Charlie will serve the remaining four years of that term.

Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » appearance » Widgets » and move a widget into Advertise Widget Zone