November 22, 2012

Five Tigers Earn Tri-Rivers All-Conference Football Honors

An undefeated regular season led Milan to a dominating performance in the post season awards as the Tri-Rivers Conference coaches released the all-conference teams last week.

Scotland County had five players earn all-conference honors, including three first team awards.

Chris Jackson turned in one of the top two performances at receiver, to claim first team honors. The junior had a team-best 21 receptions on the year for 301 yards and three TDs. He also carried the ball 60 times for 312 yards and six TDs.

Milan's Mason Thompson was tabbed as unanimous first-team selection at running back. The senior was named the league's Most Valuable Player. He was joined by teammate Aaron Richardson, another unanimous pick for first team running back.

Donovan Edwards of Knox County, earned the nod as the first team quarterback.

Named to the first team offensive line were Zack Doak and Nathan McCabe of Milan, Nathan Miller of Knox County and Garrett Wilson and Christian Henderson of Schuyler County.

The first team receiving crew included Jackson and Schuyler County's Brandon Wuebker as well as Putnam County tight end Riley Wood.

Scotland County had two players named to the first team defense. Monte Sally earned first team honors at defensive tackle. The senior had 61 tackles on the season, including 11 for losses. He also had three quarterback sacks and blocked a pair of punts.

The rest of the first team defensive line included Thompson, Wilson and Bodie Eaglen of Milan.

SCR-I's leading tackler, Jed Troutman was named a first team linebacker. The junior racked up 102 tackles on the year for the Tigers.

Richardson, Jared Barnard of Knox County and Kevin DeRyke were also unanimous selections as first team linebackers.

First team defensive backs were Dalton Shively and Zach Schmitter of Schuyler County, Caleb May of Milan and Royce Poore of Knox County.

The special teams first team honorees were punter Brett Sinclair and kicker Raul Palocios of Milan, and Edwards was named the top return specialist.

The coaches named Shivley and Milan's Jordan Eddy as the second team quarterbacks.

Scotland County's Will McRobert was named a second team running back. The backfield also included runners Kellen Gillaspy of Knox County and John Arnett of North Shelby.

Troutman was honored a second team offensive lineman along with Lien Lay of Putnam County, Nathan Miller and Drew Russell of Milan and Taylor Jackson of North Shelby.

Second team receivers were Poore and Cody Quint of Putnam County and Lee Tague of Knox County.

The second team defense consisted of defensive linemen Austin Ridgeway of Schuyler County, Nathan Miller and Colton Danger of Knox County, Lay and Riley Wood of Putnam County and McCabe.

Linebackers were Drew Bruner of Schuyler County, Gillaspy, Damein Gilworth of Putnam County and Jon Hopkins of Milan.

Zack Miller was named to the second team as a defensive back. He was joined in the secondary by Tristan Fowler of Milan, Jacob Parker of Putnam County and North Shelby's Michael Orr.

The second team special teams included Shively at punter and return specialist and Sawyer Tarr of Schuyler County at kicker.

Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » appearance » Widgets » and move a widget into Advertise Widget Zone