November 8, 2012

Wiggins Tabbed for Commissioner Job Amidst Lower Than Predicted Voter Turnout

With just one contested race on the local ballot, and one write-in contest, it was unlikely voter turnout in Scotland County would reach the 72% statewide projection issued by Secretary of State Robin Carnahan leading up to election Tuesday.

But with a number of contested state races as well the presidential decision, local polling places still were expected to draw more than the 61.1% voter turnout reported by Scotland County Clerk Batina Dodge.

The western district in Scotland County saw the largest turnout, as voters helped decide the county commissioner race.

Incumbent Paul Campbell was defeated by Republican challenger, David Wiggins by a margin of 509 to 408.

Eastern District Commissioner Danette Clatt was reelected without opposition, earning 856 votes.

Republican candidate Patty Freburg was elected as the new public administrator, fending off a write-in campaign by Mary Morgan. Freburg received 1,513 votes to 194 votes for Morgan.

Incumbents Ginny Monroe coroner, and Wayne Winn, sheriff, and Jim Ward, assessor, were re-elected without opposition with 1,687 votes, 1,665 votes and 1,656 votes respectively.

First District State Representative Craig Redmon, R-Canton, was also unopposed on the ballot. Scotland County voters marked him on 1,595 ballots.

In the presidential election, Scotland County voters marked the ticket of Mitt Romney and Paul Ryan 1,246 times compared to just 643 votes for Barack Obama and Joe Biden.

U.S. Senator Claire McCaskill received 941 votes to edge Republican challenger Todd Akin (900) votes.

At the state level, local voters favored incumbent Democrat Missouri Attorney General Chris Koster over Republican challenger Ed Martin by a narrow 886 to 873 margin.

That proved to be the lone win locally for the Democrats on the state level.

Incumbent governor Jay Nixon lost Scotland County to Republican challenger David Spence by a 930-921 margin.

Scotland County voters favored Lt. Governor Peter Kinder for reelection, giving him 1,108 votes to 677 votes for Democrat Susan Montee.

Shane Scholler was favored by local pollsters, taking 970 votes to 795 votes for Democrat Jason Kander for the Secretary of State job.

Incumbent treasurer Clint Zweifel was backed by 785 Scotland County voters while Republican challenger Cole McNary earned 970 votes.

Thanks to redistricting in the U. S. House of Representatives districts, Scotland County voters for the first time backed Republican Sam Graves. He edged Democrat Kyle Yarber by a 1,265 to 510 margin in Scotland County.

Local voters refused to back Constitutional Amendment #3 to change the selection process for supreme court and court of appeals judges. The issue failed locally by 1,320 no votes to 444 yes votes.

Scotland County voters agreed to bow out of decision making for the St. Louis police department, backing Proposition A by a vote of 1,031 for and 702 against.

Proposition B, calling for the increased tobacco tax, was handily defeated in Scotland County by 1,159 no votes to 710 yes votes.

Proposition E, which prohibits the governor or any state agency from establishing a state-based health insurance exchange, unless authorized by vote of the people or the legislature, was overwhelmingly supported locally. Scotland County cast 1,138 yes votes to just 636 no votes.

Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » appearance » Widgets » and move a widget into Advertise Widget Zone