August 16, 2012

School Board Maintains Tax Levy at Current Rate

The Scotland County R-I Board of Education met in regular session on Thursday, August 9, 2012. The Tax Rate Hearing preceded the regular meeting at 6:15. President George Koontz called the regular meeting to order at 6:30 p.m., with six members present. Dr. Tobler arrived at 6:48 p.m.

The board voted 7-0 for the tax rate to remain at $3.2984 for the 2012-13 school year. This is below the voter-approved ceiling of $3.6385 allowed by the passing of the Prop C Waiver several years ago and below the state performance levy of $3.43, as suggested by the State Legislature.

The tax rate is expected to generate $76,030 from new construction and improvements and $2,881 from reassessment. Revenues for 2012-13 will total an estimated $1,621,276.

Annual ASBR

Annually, following the close of business for the fiscal year, the district must report to the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education the status of the district's finances and academic programs from the preceding year. The Secretary of the Board Report (ASBR) must be submitted to DESE by August 15th.

Past boards have established a target of 17% fund balances. This year's ASBR shows the district balances at 32.81%, with an ending, unrestricted balance of $2,062,286.03.

In 2011-12 revenues totaled $5,541,172.87 and expenditures were $5,732,951.06. During the 2011-12 fiscal year, the district realized a deficit of $191,778.19.

"This is below the projected deficit and continues the gradual, planned draw down of the balances," said Superintendent Dave Shalley.


The board voted 7-0 to accept a letter of resignation from Jennifer Woodley. The board voted 7-0 to accept, with regret, a letter of resignation from Kary Curry. The board wishes them well in their future endeavors.

September Meeting

The Board voted 7-0 to move the September Board meeting to September 11, at 6:30 p.m., due to conflicts.

Career Ladder

The board voted 7-0 to approve the updated district's Career Ladder Plan. Shalley indicated the updated plan calls for more hours of direct student contact. He added that the state no longer supports Career Ladder; however each district can choose to participate and establish the parameters of the plan.

Supply Drive

The board voted 7-0 to approve an indemnification agreement with Dollar General for the store's school supply drive. There is no cost to the district for this drive.

Executive Session

The board voted 7-0 to approve the minutes of the July meeting.

The board voted 7-0 on the following positions:

Teacher Aide - Kim Campbell

Bus Drivers - Mitch Bales & Jana Muntz

JH Social Studies - Sara McDowell

JH Cheerleading - Andrea Hunt

Flag Sponsor- Jenna Ward

Part-Time Cook - Diane Parrish

The board voted 6-0-1 to offer employment to the following non-certified employees for the 2012-13 school year: (Mr. Clapp abstained, as he has a relative on the list.)

Bobbie Anderson (Para Professional), Mike Beeler (Technology Coordinator), Dana Bondurant (Para Professional), Schelle Cooley (Para Professional), Jane Gelbach (Para Professional), Andrea Hunt (Para Professional), Shelby McAfee (Para Professional), Faith Ann Miller (Para Professional), (Janie Parton (Parents as Teachers), Debbie Sears (Para Professional), Stephanie Shalley (Parents as Teachers), Terri Taylor (Para Professional).

Custodial Staff - Mike Gundy ( Elementary), Shellie Jackson (Elementary), Troy Carper ( JH/JH), and Brian Lewis (JH/HS).

Kitchen Staff - Pat Arnold ( High School), Linda Clark (Elementary), Vickie Mauck ( High School), Amy Talbert (Elementary) and La Dica Wittstock (Elementary).

Transportation - Bus drivers Tom Fender, Elaine Forrester, Penny Holt, Danny Norton, Jon Wullbrandt, Bonnie Young, and Ronnie Young.

The board voted 7-0 to authorize the administration to explore the possibility of reestablishing the Maintenance Director position.

The board voted 7-0 to approve the following items on the Consent Agenda: Minutes - from the July 17th meeting; Updated Sub List; Appointment of At-Risk, Migrant/Homeless, ELL and Safety Coordinators - At-Risk- Brent Bondurant and Dani Fromm; Migrant/Homeless- Nathan Pippert; ELL- Erin Tallman; Safety Coordinators- Nathan Pippert and Ryan Bergeson; Permission to Declare and Advertise Surplus Property; Approve MARE Annual Membership; Approve School Reach Renewal.

Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » appearance » Widgets » and move a widget into Advertise Widget Zone