August 9, 2012

Wiggins Edges Frederick By One Vote in Primary

They say every vote counts, and that could not have been more true than in Tuesday's Primary Election were a local race was decided by a lone vote.

David Wiggins will advance to the November General Election as the Republican Candidate for the Eastern District County Commissioner job. He received 135 votes to 134 votes for George Frederick.

Pending verification of the election results, Wiggins will now advance to face incumbent Paul Campbell in November. Campbell ran unopposed on the Democrat ballot, receiving 93 votes.

In the only other contested local race, Patty Freburg received the Republican Party nomination for the Public Administrator post, defeating Kelly Cochran by a 349 to 100 votes.

Of Scotland County's 3,143 registered voters, just 693 cast ballots on Tuesday, a 22% voter turnout. Missouri Secretary of State Robin Carnahan had predicted 25.56 percent of Missouri's registered voters would turn out for the August 7th primary election. Local voters took Republican ballots by more than a 2 to 1 ratio.

Constitutional Amendment #2 drew overwhelming support locally, with 598 yes votes to 73 no votes.

On the Democrat ticket, Ginny Monroe received 186 votes to retain her post as County Coroner. She will have no opposition in November.

The same can be said for a number of Republican incumbents. Danette Clatt received 162 votes for Eastern District Commissioner. Wayne Winn earned 400 votes for Sheriff and Jim Ward garnered 384 votes for Assessor. All three current office holders will face no opposition on the November ballot.

The same can be said at the state level, where First District State Representative Craig Redmond is unopposed. He received 373 votes in Scotland County.

Scotland County will have a new U.S. representative courtesy of redistricting. Current Congressman Sam Graves, was the top vote recipient in Scotland County for the newly formed District 6. He received 338 of the Republican votes compared to 58 for Christopher Ryan and 22 for Bob Gough.

On The Democrat side, Scotland County voters preferred Kyle Yarber, with 55votes, over Ronald William Harris (46), Ted Rights (36) and W.A. Hedge (20).

Incumbents Chris Koster and Clint Zweifel were unopposed on their party's ballots. Zweifel earned 163 votes for the Democratic nomination for State Treasurer while Koster earned 171 votes for Attorney General.

Rounding out the Democratic ballot, Scotland County voters stuck with incumbent governor Jay Nixon with 164 votes to 15 votes for William Campbell and 10 for Clay Thunderhawk.

The Lieutenant Govenor race was crowded on the ballot, with eight candidates vying for the position. Susan Montee was top vote getter locally with 78. Judy Baker earned 51 votes as the next highest total.

Jason Kander was backed by 162 Scotland County voters for Secretary of State, with MD Rabbi Alam getting just five votes.

U.S. Senator Claire McCaskill received 182 votes.

Republican voters in Scotland County tabbed Sarah Steelman as their preferred challenger for McCaskill. She received 161 votes to edge Todd Akin (119) and John Brunner (113) locally in an eight-horse race for the party's nomination.

David Spence was the top choice for local republicans for governor, earning 155 votes to 97 for John Weiler, 67 for Fred Sauer and 46 for Bill Randles.

Incumbent Peter Kinder received 191 votes for Lt. Governor, with Brad Lager getting 129 votes and Charles Kullman (44) and Mike Carter (26) also receiving support.

Scott Rupp picked up 151 local votes for the party's Secretary of State nomination. he edged Shane Schoeller (124) and Bill Stouffer (97).

Cole McNary received 298 votes for State Treasurer.

Ed Martin got 211 votes for Attorney General to edge Adam Lee Warren's 128 votes.

Three Constitutional party ballots were cast in Scotland County with no Libertarian ballots voted.

Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » appearance » Widgets » and move a widget into Advertise Widget Zone