April 5, 2012

Primary Election Will Feature Two Races as Filing Closes for County Offices

The filing period officially closed last week for the August 7th primary election with a pair of races shaping up on the Republican ballot.

George Frederick and David Wiggins both filed for the party's nomination for Western District Commissioner. The winner of the primary election will face off against incumbent Paul Campbell, who filed on the Democrat ticket.

Campbell and incumbent county coroner Ginny Monroe will be the lone county officials on the Democrat ticket.

The other contested race in the primary will be for the office of public administrator. Incumbent Ellen Aylward did not file for reelection for the post. Taking her place will be either Kelly Cochran or Patty Freburg. Both women filed on the Republican ticket.

Three incumbents will be unopposed on their party's ballot and currently will face no opposition in November as well. Danette Clatt filed for the office of Eastern District Commissioner. She was appointed to the post in April of 2011 by the governor following the passing of her husband, Deny Clatt, who was elected to the position in 2008.

Fellow Republicans Jim Ward and Wayne Winn, also have no opposition on the ballot as they seek reelection to the posts of assessor and sheriff.

Missouri Secretary of State Robin Carnahan announced that 576 candidates filed for state and federal offices for the 2012 election as the filing period ended March 27, at 5:00 p.m.

Candidates running for the five statewide offices of governor, lieutenant governor, secretary of state, treasurer and attorney general; one U.S. Senate seat; all eight of Missouri's U.S. House of Representatives' seats; 17 odd-numbered state Senate districts; various circuit judges; and 163 state House of Representative seats were required to file with the secretary of state's office.

Craig Redmon was the lone candidate to file to serve Scotland County and the remainder of what is now District 4 in the Missouri House of Representatives. The Republican from Monticello, currently represents the region as the first district representative. The district will change under proposed statewide redistricting, expanding westward to Highway 63 in Schuyler and Adair counties, while stopping in the south at the southern borders of Adair, Knox and Lewis counties.

Redistricting will have its biggest impact on local voters at the federal level. Scotland County is now part of District 6 for the United States House of Representatives. The region had previously been part of District 9, which was served by Blaine Luetkemeyer. Now voters going to the polls in Scotland County will have eight candidates to chose from, including incumbent District 6 Representative Sam Graves (R-Tarkio) who filed for reelection.

Currently, there are 313 Republican candidates, 234 Democratic candidates, 22 Libertarian candidates and seven Constitution Party candidates filed for office in Missouri.

Candidates who filed on the first day at the secretary of state's office drew a number to determine the order in which their name will appear on the primary ballot. Candidates who filed after the first day are placed on the ballot in the order they filed.

Missouri's primary election is on Tuesday, August 7, 2012. The deadline for voter registration for the August primary is July 11, 2012. The general election is Tuesday, November 6, 2012, and the voter registration deadline for that election is October 10, 2012.

Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » appearance » Widgets » and move a widget into Advertise Widget Zone