April 5, 2012

Voter Turnout Just 15% for April Election

Voter turnout was fairly light Tuesday, with the lone contested races occurring in the school board elections across Scotland County. County Clerk Batina Dodge indicated just 466 ballots were cast, producing a voter turnout of less than 15%.

The lone countywide issue was the continuation of the special road and bridge tax levy for Scotland County. Voters approved the $0.31 tax levy for another four years by a vote of 362 for, and 96 against.

The special levy, which has been in place for more than 60 years, generates approximately $160,000 a year for the road and bridge department.

Voters returned incumbents Gary Miller and Dr. Randy Tobler to the Scotland County R-I Board of Education by a narrow margin. Miller and Tobler each received 288 votes while Michelle Kleine garnered 222 votes.

A similar three candidate race was decided for the Gorin R-III board of education with Tamie Dale and Diane Tague edging out Mike Shaffer. Dale received 28 votes with Tague getting 25 votes and Shaffer receiving nine.

The municipal elections featured no races, and in several instances required voters to write-in candidates for the posts.

In the City of Memphis, Mayor William Reckenberg was reelected with 172 votes. Alderman Chris Feeney was reelected to serve the west ward. He received 109 votes while incumbent Tom Glass was reelected on the east side with 77 votes.

David Herr, Lewis B. Powell and Wesley Weiler were elected to the Rutledge board of trustees. Herr and Powell received nine votes and Weiler earned eight votes.

In the Village of Arbela, Mandi Bulen, Richard Stevenson and Robert Dundee were elected to the board, receiving 8, 7, and 9 votes respectively.

Thomas Shannan was elected to the board of trustees in Granger. The second seat was filled by write-in vote with Shirley Spurgeon receiving five write-in votes.

That was also the case for the Scotland County Ambulance board of directors with no candidate filing for the District #1 seat. Jamie Triplett received five write-in votes for the position.

In the city of Gorin, Ervin Berry was elected as west ward alderman with nine votes. Geraldine Davis received one write-in vote for the east ward alderman job. Diane Tague was elected as Gorin city clerk with nine votes.

Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » appearance » Widgets » and move a widget into Advertise Widget Zone