December 1, 2011

Two Tigers Tabbed for Northeast All-District Football Team

The Northeast Missouri Sportswriters and Sportscasters Association (NMSSA) announced on November 30th the honorees for the 2011 NEMO All-District Football teams.

Two Scotland County players were recognized for their top seasons.

Harley Stone was named an all-district receiver after leading SCR-I with 32 receptions for 451 yards and 3 touchdowns. The senior also rushed for 271 yards and 5 TDs on 26 attempts.

Stone was also honored as the region's top kicker. He converted 22 of 27 extra point attempts and also booted a 37-yard field goal.

On the defensive side of the ball, Brock Bondurant was honored as an all-district defensive back. He was tops on the Tigers with 92 tackles. The senior made four interceptions in 2011, returning two of them for touchdowns. He also had two fumble recoveries.

The NMSSA unveiled a new system for selections in 2011, eliminating the second team status, while picking a complete first team and then a limited number of players receiving honorable mention. This greatly reduced the number of all-district honors being handed out, making the award more prestigious.

Joining Stone and Bondurant on the Class 1 first team were:

quarterback Brett Thomas, Sr., Putnam County;

running backs Shawn Bertrand, Sr., South Shelby; Cooper Bankus, Sr., Milan; and Dakota Schmitter, Sr., Schuyler County;

receivers Wes Mefford, Jr., South Shelby; and Stone;

offensive linemen Mason Greenwell, Sr., South Shelby; Chris Cunningham, Sr., Louisiana; Zack Doak, Jr., Milan; Jon Harder, Sr., Knox County; and M.J. Bradley, Sr., Marceline;

defensive line Wes Mefford; Jr., South Shelby; Mason Thompson, Jr., Milan; Dakota Valentine, Sr., Putnam County; and Alex Oder, Sr., Milan;

linebackers Aaron Richardson, Soph, Milan; Joel Hinkle, Sr., Putnam County; Randal Rosenbaum, Sr., Marceline and Dylan Smith, Jr., Louisiana;

defensive backs Bondurant; Andrew Delana, Sr., South Shelby and Dalton Branstetter, Sr., Louisiana;

kicker Stone; punter Codi Fordyce, Sr., Milan and all-purpose back Leighton McCabe, Sr., Knox County.

John Dabney of Milan and Rob Wilt of South Shelby were named Co-Coaches of the Year.

Named to the honorable mention list were: Steven Hayhurst, Jr., Paris; Brad Hisel, Sr., Milan; Logan Boyd, Soph., Van-Far; Tim Jordan, Sr., Marceline, Austin Hall, Sr., South Shelby; Wade Kemp, Sr., North Shelby; Nathen McCabe, Jr., Milan; Jared Garnett, Sr., Paris; Garrett Wilson, Jr., Schuyler County; Blake Warner, Sr., Marceline; Riley Schmitz, Jr., South Shelby; Chase Hilsabeck, Jr., Marceline; and Raul Palacios, Fr., Milan.

Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » appearance » Widgets » and move a widget into Advertise Widget Zone