June 9, 2011

Alderton, Shaw, Hunziker Lead Blue Team to All Star Win

While the annual Northeast Missouri Officials Association all star basketball game was held in Kirksville on Saturday afternoon, it easily could have passed for Memphis thanks to all of the Scotland County storylines.

(Photos from the game can be viewed at the Memphis Democrat facebook page.)

The girls game featured a pair of SCR-I standouts led by Lady Tigers head coach Jaryt Hunziker. The Blue team led by the local trio posted a 69-57 victory.

Between games, the officials association made the first presentation of the Annual Deny Clatt Memorial Award, presented to KMEM 100.5 FM sports director Donnie Middleton, for his years of coverage of the area sports teams. Clatt was a fixture at the all star event, officiating the contest many times over the years. His fellow officials dedicated the new award in his honor after Clatt passed away earlier this year.

Deny's wife Danette, along with son, Casey and his wife and son were on hand to make the presentation to Middleton between the games.

That capped off a Scotland County celebration at the event.

Alderton poured in 11 points in the contest to help her squad pick up the win. Shaw added six points.

Jamie and Coach Hunziker will be in action one final time together this Saturday as they participate in the McDonalds/Quincy Herald-Whig All Star Classic that pits northeast Missouri standouts versus their Illinois counterparts. Alderton, and teammate Ashley Tague, both were selected to play in the contest, but will be unable to participate due to scheduling conflicts.

The girls game will tip off at 5 p.m. on June 11th at Quincy University's Pepsi Arena.

Hunziker earned the honor to coach the squad after guiding Scotland County to its first district crown since 2006, finishing the year with a 19-8 record.

Joining Shaw on the Missouri girls roster will be Clarence Cannon Conference Player of the Year Brittany Yost of South Shelby who averaged 16.6 points and 10.7 rebounds en route to being named an all-state performer. The other eight players will include Kelli Hines of South Shelby, Chevie Wiseman of Highland, Danielle Epperson of Mark Twain, Chelsea Edmondson of Clark County, Lorelei Smith and Amelia Wallace of Highland. Knox County's Stacey Leckbee and Canton's Kristyn Caldwell.

Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » appearance » Widgets » and move a widget into Advertise Widget Zone