August 25, 2011

SCR-I Meets All Adequate Yearly Progress Report Standards

The Scotland County R-I Board of Education met in regular session on Monday, August 16, 2011. The Tax Rate Hearing preceded the regular meeting at 5:30. President Gary Miller called the regular meeting to order at 5:45 p.m., with six members present. Matt McKee arrived at 5:50 p.m.

The board voted 7-0 to set the tax rate for the 11-12 school year at $3.2984. This is below the voter-approved ceiling of $3.3321 allowed by the passing of the prop C waiver several years ago.

The tax rate is expected to generate $72,633 from new construction and improvements and $3,785 from reassessment. Revenues for 2011-12 will total $1,540,581. This is $12,509 above the revenue from 2010.

Secretary of the Board Report (ASBR) - Annually, following the close of business for the fiscal year, the district must report to the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education the status of the district's finances and academic programs from the preceding year.

The ASBR must be approved and submitted to DESE by August 15th. Past boards have established a target of 17% fund balances. This year's ASBR shows the district balances at 40.22%, with an ending balance of $2,254,074.72.

Revenues for 2010-11 totaled $5,418,427.53 and expenditures were $5,499,577.34. During the 2010-11 fiscal year, the district realized a deficit of $81,149.81. This is below the projected deficit and continues the gradual, planned draw down of the balances.

The board voted 7-0 to approve the ASBR, as presented.

Review AYP Report

The district has received the Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP) report from DESE. AYP is the report established by No Child Left Behind by which schools are measured on their performance.

In 2010, SCR-I received a Not Met classification in two areas, communication arts and mathematics testing scores Schools that receive Not Met status for two consecutive years fall into Level One School Improvement Status.

That will not be the case for SCR-I, which met all standards in the AYP report for math and communication arts test scores, attendance and graduation results.

House Committee

President Gary Miller appointed a committee to review bids for the building trades house. George Koontz will chair the committee; members will be Matt McKee and Randy Tobler.

Dual Credit Agreement

The board voted 7-0 to enter into an agreement to offer dual credit courses from Moberly Area Community College.

Technology Job

The board voted 7-0 to approve the Technology Job Description update, with wording changed for the Tech Director to be "accountable for the design, implementation and maintenance of the district websites."

Consent Agenda

The board voted 7-0 to approve the following items on the consent agenda:

Minutes - from the July 26th meeting.

Updated Sub List

Appoint At Risk, Migrant/Homeless, ELL and Safety Coordinators - At-Risk- Brent Bondurant and Dani Fromm; Migrant/Homeless- Rhonda McBee; ELL- Erin Tallman; Safety Coordinators- Rhonda McBee and Ryan Bergeson

Approve Records Purge - 2002-2003 Payroll Records & Bank Statements; 1970 - 2005 Misc. Office Files; 1990-1996 Check Carbon Copies; 1983-1984 Daily Lunch Summaries; 2007-2008 Invoices; 1988 - 1990 W-2 Forms; 2004-2005 W-2 Forms; ASBR Working Copies; Previous Years Student Fundraising Information; 2005-2006, 2006-2007 & 2007-2008 Staff Absence Forms; Deceased Personnel Employee Files.

Surplus Property - The following property was declared surplus and approved for advertisement and sale - Classroom Set of Palm Pilots w/cabinet; Clasroom Set of DreamWriters w/cabinet; Book/Magazine Display Case w/attached 4-Drawer Storage Unit; 1 Maxon CB Radio; 3 Laptops (1 Dell, 1 Gateway, 1 Toshiba); 4 Motorola Radius M100/M200 Mobile Radios w/chargers.

Executive Session

The board went into executive session at 7:08 p.m.

The board voted 5-0-2 to approve the minutes of the July meeting.

The board voted 7-0 to offer employment to the following non-certified employees for the 2011-12 school year:

SUPPORT STAFF - Bobbie Anderson - Para Professional, Mike Beeler -Technology Coordinator, Dana Bondurant - Para Professional, Schelle Cooley - Para Professional, Patty Eggleston - Nurse, Jane Gelbach - Para Professional, Andrea Hunt - Para Professional, Shelby McAfee - Para Professional, Janie Parton - Parents as Teachers, Debbie Sears - Para Professional, Stephanie Shalley - Parents as Teachers, Terri Taylor - Para Professional.

CUSTODIANS - Mike Gundy, Shellie Jackson, Troy Carper, and Brian Lewis.

KITCHEN STAFF - Pat Arnold, Linda Clark, Kary Curry, Tamera Harker, Vickie Mauck, and Amy Talbert.

TRANSPORTATION - Roger Armstrong, Tom Fender, Elaine Forrester, Penny Holt, Jeri McDonald, Danny Norton, Jon Wullbrandt, Bonnie Young, Ronnie Young.

The board voted to go out of closed session and into open session at 8:30 p.m.

Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » appearance » Widgets » and move a widget into Advertise Widget Zone