May 5, 2011

Weather Finally Allows Scotland County Speedway to Open Season

The clouds finally parted long enough for the 2011 race season to get underway at Scotland County Speedway after three consecutive rainouts.

A total of 66 cars took part in the opener at SCS on Saturday, April 30th for KMEM 100.5 FM race night.

The B-modified division stole the spotlight, with the biggest field, 21 cars.

Rick Girard of RDK Motorsports released the following official results.

Jason McDaniel took the checkered flag ahead of Curtis VanDerWal and Jayme Duinink. Brandon Dale of Memphis was fourth followed by Brett Lowry.

Rounding out the field were:

6th Rick Barlow Jr., 7th Carter VanDenBerg, 8th Mike Shelton, 9th James Maxey, 10th Matt Moore, 11th Curtis Barnes, 12th Codey Phillips, 13th Kelly Smith, 14th Jeremiah Jones, 15th Jim Gillenwater, 16th Billy Barton, 17th Mark Mundell, 18th Levi Smith, 19th Cayden Carter, 20th Scott VanBuskirk.

The A modifieds also put together a solid field in their SCS debut, with 17 cars on the track for the feature race.

Micahel Long of Quincy, IL, was the top performer, besting Steve Grotz and Vance Wilson. Troy Grotz was fourth with Gary Wilson rounding out the top five.

The rest of the field finished as follows:

6th Bill Baker, 7th Dave Wietholder, 8th Terry Wilson, 9th James Leffew, 10th Jake Griffin, 11th Craig Spegal 12th Ryan Morrison, 13th Jeff Eddy, 14th Charles Baker, 15th Hugh Eddy, 16th Tony Dunker, 17th Adam Birck.

The Hobby Stocks feature pitted 14 racers against one another for top honors. Dustin Griffiths crossed the finish line first ahead of Steve Allen, Clayton Crump, Jaime Bevill and Tim Pettibone.

They were followed across the finish line by:

6th Justin O'Haver, 7th Ron Downing Jr., 8th Bobby Lair, 9th Justin Bevill, 10th Doug Gordon, 11th Andrew Hustead, 12th Vic Sanders, 13th Tony Teninty, 14th Dale Porter.

Just six stock cars took part in the opener, with

Mike Harward winning the inaugural race ahead of Derek Kirkland, Brian Clark, Jakoby Hooper, Greg Harsch, and David Denham.

The Hornets featured a similar field, with first place going to Casey Kendrick. Devin Still was second ahead of Travis DeMint, Mike Hormung, Jr., Josh Kendrick, and Chris Loring.

Kelly Smith of Kirksville took home the trophy in the late model feature. Jake Griffin was second with Lynn Monroe in third and Danny Lorton fourth.

Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » appearance » Widgets » and move a widget into Advertise Widget Zone