April 7, 2011

Berkowitz Elected to SCR-I School Board

Less than 20 percent of registered voters turned out in Scotland County with at least one precinct recording zero votes in the April 5th municipal election.

The lone county-wide race was for the Scotland County R-I School Board where four candidates, including three incumbents were vying for three seats. Newcomer Sam Berkowitz was elected with 472 votes. He will take the seat held by Paul Campbell, after the incumbent received 294 votes. George Koontz was re-elected with 437 votes and incumbent Matt McKee retained his seat with 366 votes.

The only other contested race in Scotland County was in the Village of Arbela where voters selected two trustees. Dale McCleland and Greg Kraus each earned seven votes to win. They edged out Sheila Remley and Sandra Remley who each received six votes.

Incumbents Allen Creek and Lucas Remley retained their seats on the Memphis City Council as they ran unopposed. That was also the case in the village of Rutledge where Glada Shultz and Carol McCabe were re-elected without opposition.

Devin Holt received nine votes while Shane Shannan received eight and Dana Shannan received six to earn seats on the Granger Board of Trustees.

Jeanette Jones was elected the west ward alderman in Gorin with two votes. Voters in Gorin's east ward failed to cast a single ballot. Amanda Adams was the lone candidate on the ballot.

Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » appearance » Widgets » and move a widget into Advertise Widget Zone