November 25, 2010

Sears, Stone, See Earn First Team All Conference Football Honors

A share of the conference title and a trip to the second round of the state playoffs was capped off with plenty of post season awards for the Schuyler County Rams, who took home the league MVP and coach of the year honors from the recent Tri-Rivers Conference coaches conference.

Scotland County (5-6 and 3-2 in the TRC) received its share of honors, with three first team honorees as well as nine second team representatives.

Schuyler County's quarterback Tim Gorman, senior, was the unanimous choice as the league MVP. He completed 98 of 212 passes for 1,715 yards and 20 TDs. Gorman also ran for 1,021 yards and 12 TDs.

Rams leader Jason Melnick was named Coach of the Year after Schuyler County went 7-5 on the year, tying for first in the TRC with a 4-1 mark and advancing into the state sectionals after a district title and opening round playoff blowout of Paris.

First team TRC running backs were Kyle Hoskins, senior from Putnam County, and Dakota Schmitter, junior, Schuyler County. Hoskins ran for 1,204 yards this year while Schmitter amassed 1,061 yards and scored 15 TDs while also catching 12 passes for 212 yards and six more scores.

Scotland County's Harley Stone, a junior, was named first team tight end after leading the Tigers with 25 receptions for 303 yards and two scores.

North Shelby's John Stoneburner, a junior, was a unanimous selection as first team wide receiver. Aaron Fowler, a senior from Schuyler County, was the conference's other top pass catcher, amassing 947 yards receiving and 13 TDs.

A pair of linemen were unanimous selections on the first team. Jon Harder, a junior from Knox County and Jesse Christoffer, a senior from North Shelby, were named on all six coaches; ballots. Rounding out the first team offensive line were Luis Sanchez, senior from Milan; Bo Ridgeway, senior from Schuyler County; Will See, senior from Scotland County; and Wes Hamilton, senior from Putnam County.

On the other side of the ball, the first team winners manning the trenches were defensive linemen Joey Antal, junior from Schuyler County; Mason Thompson, sophomore from Milan; unanimous pick Damon Hemmerling, senior from Knox County; and Codi Fordyce, junior from Milan.

The linebacker group was led by unanimous picks Matt Thompson, a senior from Milan and Putnam County's Hoskins. Schmitter earned Schuyler County another first team nod and was joined by Wade Kemp, a junior from North Shelby.

Sabe Sears, a senior from Scotland County, earned first team defensive back honors after leading the Tigers with 82 tackles and three interceptions. Brett Thomas, a junior from Putnam County and Schuyler County's Fowler, also earned first team accolades.

Gorman picked up even more hardware, being named the conference's top kicker and punter while Leighton McCabe, junior from Knox County, was tabbed the best kick returner.

The TRC 2nd team offense was led by quarterback Alex Thrasher, a senior from North Shelby. Chris Staggs, senior running back from Milan had 1,405 yards and 15 TDs. He was joined in the 2nd team backfield by Sears, who led the Tigers with 1,135 yards and 12 TDs and McCabe who was tops on Knox County with 929 yards rushing and 7 TDs.

Milan's Codi Fordyce, a junior was named second team tight end. Chance Tungate, a sophomore from Knox County and Rod Sears, a senior from SCR-I, were named second team receivers.

Coaches honored offensive linemen Dallas Halley, senior from Putnam County; Austin Ridgeway, sophomore from Schuyler County; Alex Oder, junior from Milan; Andy Garrett, senior from Scotland County; and North Shelby's Kemp.

The defensive line honorees were Jake Hyde , senior from Putnam County; Jon Harder, junior from Knox County; SCR-I's See; Oder from Milan and Chris Kottwitz, senior from Putnam County.

The second team linebackers were Colton Macomber, a senior from Schuyler County; Stone from SCR-I; Blane Robinson, a senior from Putnam County; and Brock Bondurant, junior from Scotland County.

The defensive backfield consisted of Brandon Baird, senior from Knox County; Thrasher; Gorman and Laden Holt, a junior from Scotland County.

Special teams award winners were Fordyce at punter, Stone at kicker and Rod Sears at kick return man.

Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » appearance » Widgets » and move a widget into Advertise Widget Zone