March 25, 2010

Tague, Shelley Earn All-District Basketball Honors

The Northeast Missouri Sportswriters and Sportscasters All District Basketball Teams were announced March 23rd.

Named to the Class 2 girls First Team were: Cantons star trio of Tori Niemann, Sr. Canton; Jessie Logsdon, Sr.; and Kristyn Caldwell, Jr.; fresh off their second straight trip to the state final four. Joining them were Tri-Rivers Conference MVP Carly Bohle, Sr. of Milan; Lauren Jaeger, So. of Clopton, Jordan Spradling, Sr. from Van Far, Lorrie Peters, Sr. from Knox County and Jessica Linberger, Jr. of North Shelby.

Named to the Second team were: Natalie Fleming, Fr. Silex; Tessa Henderson, Sr. Paris; Kelsea Dorsey, Jr. Clopton; Ashley Tague, Jr. Scotland County; Brittni Brandwein, So. Community; Jordan Dunlap, So. Milan; Stacey Leckbee, Jr. Knox County; and Stacie Dallas, Sr. Silex.

The Class 2 Coach of the Year was Seth Minter of Canton.

On the boys side named to the first team were: Jon Gilliam, Sr. Paris; Daniel Mallette, Sr. Putnam County; Anthony Davis, Sr. Van-Far; Andy Fleming, Sr. Silex; Jake Ewigman, Jr. Marceline; Colt Carper, Jr. Canton; Justin Reeves, Jr. Knox County; and Brett Kirtlink, Jr. Louisiana.

Earning second team honors were: Matt Brown, Sr. Silex; Nolan Wood, Sr. Putnam County; Brody Heidenwith, Jr. Putnam County; David Kunzweiler, Sr. Clopton; Kyle Shelley, Sr., Scotland County; Jeff Floray, Sr. Marceline; Tristan Lonberger, Sr. Knox County; and Tanner Ray, Jr. Louisiana.

The Coach of the Year was Jamie Tipton of Putnam County.

Other local players of interest earning honors were in the Class 3 girls, first team Kaitlin Stump, Sr. Schuyler County and second team Lesa Ford, Sr. Schuyler County and Brooke Wheeler, Sr. Clark County.

Class 3 boys first team honorees included Tim Gorman, Jr. Schuyler County and Jesse Wheeler, Sr. Schuyler County

Christian Cunningham, Sr. Schuyler County and Jaron Shively, Sr. Schuyler County were named to the second team along with Justin Alderton, Jr. Clark County.

Coach of the Year was Kyle Windy of Schuyler County.

Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » appearance » Widgets » and move a widget into Advertise Widget Zone