September 2, 2010

USDA Designates Scotland County, 54 Others as Primary Natural Disaster Areas 

The U.S. Department of Agriculture has designated 55 counties in Missouri as natural disaster areas because of losses caused by excessive rainfall, flash flooding, flooding and high winds that occurred Feb. 1 – July 15, 2010. The counties are:

Adair, Andrew, Audrain, Benton, Caldwell, Callaway, Carroll, Cass, Chariton, Clark, Cooper, Crawford, Daviess, DeKalb, Dunklin, Gentry, Grundy, Harrison, Henry, Hickory, Holt, Howard, Jackson, Jefferson, Laclede, Lafayette, Lewis, Lincoln, Linn, Livingston, Macon, Maries, Marion, Mercer, Mississippi, Moniteau, Monroe, Montgomery, Pemiscot, Perry, Pettis, Pike, Platte, Putnam, Ray, Saline, Schuyler, Scotland, St. Charles, St. Genevieve, Sullivan, Vernon, Warren and Worth.

“President Obama and I understand these conditions caused severe damage to corn, soybeans and wheat, and we want to help,” said Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack. “This action will provide help to hundreds of farmers who suffered significant production losses.”

Small farmer and Agriculture Committee member U.S. Rep. Blaine Luetkemeyer (MO-9) today announced farmers in all 25 counties of the 9th District of Missouri are eligible for Agriculture Department disaster assistance due to losses caused by excessive rainfall, flash flooding, flooding and high winds.

“It is critical that our farm families in the 9th District have the tools they need to help recover from the extreme conditions they have faced this year. I am pleased the Agriculture Department has provided the opportunity for assistance,” Luetkemeyer said.

Farmers and ranchers in various counties in Kansas also qualify for natural disaster assistance because their counties are contiguous.

Farmers and ranchers in counties in Arkansas, Illinois, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Nebraska and Tennessee also qualify for natural disaster assistance because their counties are contiguous.

All counties listed above were designated natural disaster areas August 20, 2010, making all qualified farm operators in the designated areas eligible for low interest emergency (EM) loans from USDA’s Farm Service Agency (FSA), provided eligibility requirements are met. Farmers in eligible counties have eight months from the date of the declaration to apply for loans to help cover part of their actual losses. FSA will consider each loan application on its own merits, taking into account the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability. FSA has a variety of programs, in addition to the EM loan program, to help eligible farmers recover from adversity.

USDA also has made other programs available to assist farmers and ranchers, including the Supplemental Revenue Assistance Program (SURE), which was approved as part of the Food, Conservation, and Energy Act of 2008; the Emergency Conservation Program; Federal Crop Insurance; and the Noninsured Crop Disaster Assistance Program. Interested farmers may contact their local USDA Service Centers for further information on eligibility requirements and application procedures for these and other programs. Additional information is also available online at

FSA news releases are available on FSA’s website at via the “News and Events” link.

Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » appearance » Widgets » and move a widget into Advertise Widget Zone