July 29, 2010

Voters Will Head to Polls Tuesday for Primary Election

Voters will head to the polls Tuesday, August 3rd to determine local and state issues as well as finalize the Ballots for the November general election.

Primary elections in the State of Missouri are held on the first Tuesday after the first Monday in August of even numbered years. According to the Missouri Secretary of State’s Office, Missouri has open primaries, meaning every eligible registered voter may select the party ballot of their choice.

Voters in the primary may select only one party’s ballot. Voters who do not wish to give a political party preference may request an issues only ballot, if one is available in that particular jurisdiction.

Scotland County Clerk Betty Lodewegen indicated, Scotland County voters will have five different ballots to chose from, one each for the Republican, Democrat, Libertarian and Constitutional parties, as well as the issues only ballot with the county road rock tax issue as well as the State Proposition C question.

The Democrat ballot will offer Scotland County voters their only opportunity to decide local races, while the Republican ballot will decide a race for First District State Representative. The Constitutional ballot features three candidates for U.S. Senate as does the Libertarian ballot. The later also has a race for the U.S. Representative 9th District.

All four ballots will also include the county and state ballot issues, which will be available on a separate ballot if voters choose.

The county is requesting an increase from 25 cents per acre to 75 cents per agriculture acre for the special road rock tax.

Proposition C asks Missouri voters for the power for the state to deny the federal government the right to penalize citizens for refusing to purchase private health insurance based on the recently approved federal Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act.

Voters that choose a Democrat ballot will decide the race for Scotland County clerk, as all three candidates for the job filed on the Democratic ticket.

Deputy clerk Batina Dodge is seeking the position along with Christopher K. Mallett and Robert Moseley.

These ballots will also decide the party’s candidate for presiding commissioner. Charles E. “Chipper” Harris, Jr., who was appointed to the position in 2008 will be on the ballot along with former Memphis city alderman Jamie Parker.

The party will also decide candidates for state auditor between the current office holder Susan Montee and Abdul Akram; and for U.S. Senate between Frances J. Vangeli, Robin Carnahan, and Richard Charles Tolbert.

The Republican ticket has just one local race, for First District State Representative. Craig Redmon and Neill McKee are vying for the party’s nod to try to replace Brian Munzliner, who is seeking to unseat Missouri Senator Wes Shoemyer.

The ballot also features a race for U.S. Representative 9th District between Representative Blaine Luetkemeyer and challenger James O. Baker; as well as races for State Auditor between Allen Icet and Tom Schweich; and a packed race for U.S. Senate to replace retiring Kit Bond. Candidates for the post on the Republican ticket are R.L. Praprotnik, Hector Maldonado, Kristi Nichols, Roy Blunt, Deborah Solomon, Davis Conway, Mike Vontz, Chuck Purgason and Tony Laszacs.

Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » appearance » Widgets » and move a widget into Advertise Widget Zone