April 1, 2010

Contested Races Expected to Generate Good Voter Turnout

With contested races for city, school board and health department seats, local election officials are anticipating increased voter turnout for the Tuesday, April 6th election in Scotland County.

I expect both rooms downstairs will be pretty busy, said county clerk Betty Lodewegen referring to the East and West Jefferson precinct with polling places in the basement of the courthouse.

A three-person race for the office of City Marshal will highlight the Memphis municipal ballot, where voters will also elect a new east ward alderman. City Marshal John Myers is being challenged by Bill Holland and Jason Moss. Scott Goff and Tom Glass are seeking to replace Jamie Parker on the city council. Parker did not seek re-elecion as east ward alderman.

Incumbents William Reckenberg (mayor) and Chris Feeney (west ward alderman) are unopposed on the ballot.

Patrons of the Scotland County R-I School District will be electing two board of education members, with six candidates seeking the three-year terms. Incumbents Stacy Alexander and Bill Cottrell are joined on the ballot by Samantha Brush, Fred Clapp, Trinity Davis and Stacy Westhoff.

Voters will be deciding another full race for the Scotland County Health Department Board of Directors. There are five candidates for the three four-year terms available on the board. Candidates on the ballot are Sue Payne, Patty Freburg, Deidre (Dee) L. Wiley, Robert Parrish and Jason Moss.

The Gorin R-III School District has three candidates for two three-year vacancies on the board. Voters will choose between Ricky Miller, Sr., Rhonda Peterson and Ryan Miller, Sr. Tammie Dale is the lone candidate for a two-year un-expired term to be decided by voters.

All of the other municipal races feature unopposed races except in the Village of Arbela, where voters have five candidates for three openings on the board of trustees. Robert A. Dundee, Richard Stevenson, Sheila Remely, Sandra Remely and Carol L. Wiley have filed for the offices. Michelle D. Dundee is the lone candidate for a one-year unexpired term on the board.

Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » appearance » Widgets » and move a widget into Advertise Widget Zone