January 14, 2010

Scotland County/Memphis Fire Department Elects Officers for 2010

A number of volunteers ensure that residents of Scotland County and the City of Memphis are afforded fire protection. The Scotland County Fire Corporation, a dues driven entity, works hand-in-hand with the City of Memphis, a tax-based municipal fire protection provider to offer a unique partnership for this community.

Both providers share a mutual base of operations, provided by the City of Memphis, while sharing costs of equipment and fire fighting vehicles.

But none of that matters without the more than two dozen volunteers that man that equipment each and every time there is an emergency call.

The Scotland County Fire Department gathered January 6th at the fire station for the annual reorganizational meeting. Bryan Whitney was re-elected as fire chief. He retained two assistant chiefs, Roger Gosney and Randy Trueblood while adding a new officer, Jim Long, to the post of assistant chief. Kevin Skinner will continue to serve as the departmentís treasurer, while Scott Westhoff will take over for Brian Consbrock as the groupís secretary. Gosney and Brandon Elenbass were elected as the groupís training officers.

The rest of the Scotland County/Memphis Fire Department consists of Robert Arnold, Jeff Cline, Chris Feeney, Jay Fox, Mike Frederick, Ed Good, Chris Holt, Kevin Holton, David Long, Jeremiah Marlowe, Jeff McBee, Greg Probst, Carl Trueblood, Clint VanGorkam, Stacy Westhoff, David Wiggins and Jimmie Winn.

At the January meeting, the firemen recognized a pair of their own, retiring from the volunteer service after more than 50 years combined as firemen. Tom Matlock and Mitchell Pence were thanked by the department for their dedicated service over that time.

The Scotland County Fire Corporation held its annual meeting Saturday, January 9th at the fire station. Stockholders maintained the current board and slate of officers. Freddie Henderson will continue to serve as president with Willis Martin the vice president and Stacie Dannenhauer serving as secretary and treasurer.

The remainder of the rural fire corporation board members are: Mike Johnson, Bud Garrett, Jack Dannenhauer, Tom Fender, Chad Triplett, George Frederick, Wilbert Lohmann, Wayne Durham, Bob Hunolt and Keith Martin.

Annual membership dues of $30 for the rural fire corporation for 2010 are now payable at State Farm Insurance in Memphis. Rural residents (outside of the city limits of Memphis) must have a membership in the fire corporation to allow the rural fire department to respond to a fire on the property.

Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » appearance » Widgets » and move a widget into Advertise Widget Zone