November 19, 2009

Scotland County’s Five Seniors Earn Tri-Rivers All Conference Honors

The two top teams in the Tri-Rivers Conference took home several parting gifts as they finished off their farewell tour in 2009. Clark County and Brookfield took top honors in nine of the 13 categories on the annual all conference awards.

Clark County’s Matt Smith was named coach of the year. The defending Class 2 state champions saw their season come to an end on Saturday with a 34-6 loss to #1 ranked Centralia in the state quarterfinals in Kahoka.

The Indians’ Justin Alderton was named the league’s most valuable player as the top running back in the conference.

Teammate Justin Oiler was the top quarterback while senior Zach Nixon was the lone unanimous first team pick on the offensive line. Zach Alderton was the first team tight end and Mason Owen was a unanimous selection at wide receiver. Nathan Alderton was the league’s lone unanimous pick for first team linebacker giving Clark County a strong finish.

Brookfield received top honors at wide receiver where Blake Williams was a unanimous pick for the first team. Brookfield senior Mitchell Ayers topped the list at defensive back.

Rounding out the first team selections where offensive linemen Brock Wine of Brookfield (senior), Travis Hamlin of Knox County (senior), Justin Winn of Scotland County (senior) and Neil Moon of Clark County (senior).

Kyle Hoskins of Putnam County (junior) was the other first team running back.

Shelton Andrews of Putnam County (senior) was the league’s top defensive lineman. He was joined in the trenches by Austin Lindsey of Brookfield (senior), Jonathan Howren (junior) and Moon both of Clark County and David Hinkle of Knox County (senior).

Joining Alderton on the linebacking first team were Wine from Brookfield, Andy Greenley of Knox County (senior) Josh Mesemer of North Shelby (senior) and Kyle Shelley of Scotland County (senior).

Ryan Whiston (junior) and Owen both of Clark County were first team honorees at defensive back.

First team honorees on special teams were punter Keenan Gillaspy of Knox County (senior), kicker Cameron Kirmse of Knox County (senior) and return specialist Alex Daniel of North Shelby (senior).

Winn and Shelley were the lone first team performers for the Tigers, who finished the year 6-5 and 3-4 in the TRC.

Winn anchored the Tigers offensive line in his senior season, and was the focal point of the ground game, with the coaching staff moving him around on the line with the mindset of running behind him as much as possible.

Shelley was the team’s leading tackler, finishing the year with 136 tackles, two interceptions, three fumble recoveries and a blocked punt.

The Tri-Rivers Conference second team was led by Gillaspy of Knox County at quarterback. Kirmse and Scotland County’s Cody Taft earned second team honors at running back.

The second team offensive line consisted of Jason Bichsel of North Shelby (senior), J.C. Ewing of Putnam County (senior), Spencer Gordan of Brookfield (senior), Mitchell Weller of Clark County (junior) and Jacob McAfee of Clark County (junior).

Receivers were Leighton McCabe of Knox County (sophomore) and Whiston. The tight end honors went to SCR-I’s Brandon Garnett (senior).

The second team defensive line was made up by Bichsel, Zach Nixon of Clark County (senior) Justin Alderton, and Winn.

Linebackers were Taft, John McCollon of Putnam County (senior), Ben Harder of Knox County (senior) and Zach Alderton.

Second team defensive backs were Daniel, Tim Gormon of Schuyler County (junior) and Sabe Sears of Scotland County (junior).

Special team honorees were punter Gormon, kicker Zach Nixon and Jesse Christoffer of North Shelby (junior) and return specialist Owen.

Taft led SCR-I with 1,307 yards rushing on 158 carries for an average of 8.27 yards per attempt. He was tops on the team with 15 TDs.

Garnett was a key blocker for the Tigers and also caught14 passes for 190 yards and one touchdown.

Taft was second on the Tigers with 103 tackles. He had one interception and recovered two fumbles. Winn finished with 73 tackles and one quarterback sack. Sears led the Tigers with four interceptions and also finished with 74 tackles.

The all conference third team was as follows:

Quarterback Lindsey of Brookfield; running backs Mitchell Dyers of Brookfield (senior), Shelley of SCR-I and Ryan Henderson of North Shelby (senior); offensive linemen Brian Schrage of Knox County (senior), Ritnee Smiley of Milan (senior), Chris Kottwitz of Putnam County (junior), Jordan Fulk (senior) and Andy Garrett (junior) of Scotland County; receivers Ethan Harmon of Brookfield (senior) and Garon Fowler of Schuyler County (junior); and tight ends Christian Cunningham of Schuyler County (senior) and McCollon of Putnam County.

Defensive linemen Cunningham, Dallas Halely of Putnam County (junior), Bryon Clayton of Brookfield (junior) and Damon Hemmerling of Knox County (junior); linebackers Brody Shrock of Milan (senior), Gary Lindsey (junior) and Jacob Buckallew (senior) both of Brookfield; defensive backs Tristan Lonberger of Knox County (senior), Blain Roberson of Putnam County (junior) and Oiler of Clark County.

Special team honorees were Sears at punter, kicker Josh Torrez of Brookfield (sophomore) and Taft at return specialist.

Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » appearance » Widgets » and move a widget into Advertise Widget Zone