September 3, 2009

SCR-I Board of Education Approves Lower Tax Levy Rate for 2009-10

The Board of Education met in special session on Tuesday, August 25th. President Gary Miller called the meeting to order at 6:30 p.m. The meeting was preceded by the Tax Rate Hearing.

The board voted 7-0 to set the tax rate for 2009-2010 at $3.2484. The tax rate of $3.2484 is below the 2008-09 tax rate of $3.36 and the state performance levy of $3.43, which by law will require schools with the lower rate to submit in writing that their students are receiving an adequate education. If not, it is deemed the result of a lack of local effort.

The tax rate of $3.2484 is estimated to generate $1,422,543 dollars for the district, a total increase of $29,838.00 over the 2008-09 fiscal year. These figures are based on a 92.68% collection rate. The tax rate ceiling is lowered this year due to county-wide reassessment combined with the board’s decision last year not to utilize the maximum levy. Senate Bill 711 states the tax rate set in the non-reassessment year becomes the tax rate ceiling in the reassessment year.

In April 2002, voters approved a Prop C waiver allowing the school board to raise the tax levy to $3.69, when needed. The last four years, the board voted not to use the higher rate.

“At this time we feel no need to raise the local levy, as we are working with a planned deficit budget,” said Superintendent Dave Shalley.

Dual Credit Agreement

In other business, the board voted 7-0 to enter into a dual credit agreement with Moberly Area Community College again this year. This agreement will allow SCR-I students to accumulate college credit hours, along with high school credit, for dual credit courses.

Early Graduation Policy

The board discussed the Early Graduation Policy IKFA of the District. Currently, the policy states students graduating early are considered alumni for all school events, except the graduation ceremony. No action was taken.

Executive Session

The board voted 7-0 to approve the minutes from the August 13th meeting. The board voted 6-0-1 (Alexander, McKee, Cottrell, Tobler, Koontz, Miller-yes; Campbell- abstain) to approve the following class sponsorships and junior high boys’ basketball coach for the 09-10 year: freshman class sponsor-Sean Reynolds; sophomore class sponsor-Greg Wilson; junior class sponsors-Carol McCabe & Marc Colvin; senior class sponsor-Brooke Wineinger; junior high boys’ basketball coach-Lance Campbell. The board voted 7-0 to assign Jenna Ketchum the Student Council Sponsorship with a stipend of one percent.

Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » appearance » Widgets » and move a widget into Advertise Widget Zone