April 2, 2009

Voters to Decide School Board, Municipal Races on Tuesday

With just two contested races, Scotland County Clerk Betty Lodewegen is predicting a light turnout for the April 7th annual municipal elections. While there are just two races, voters will also be deciding a tax issue and also will be called up to submit names for no fewer than five offices that have no official candidates on the ballot.

This election may become known as “Write-In Tuesday” as at least three municipalities and one school board will have vacancies filled on their governing boards by someone who voters will have to pencil in on the ballot.

There is no official candidate for the two-year term as west ward alderman for the city of Memphis. The position is currently held by Allen Creek. The city of Gorin will have a write-in elected for the two-year east ward alderman job as well as the one-year un-expired term for mayor. Three trustees will be elected to the governing board for the City of Granger, which only has two candidates on the ballot, Shane Shannan and Dana Shannan. And the Gorin R-III School will have two write-ins elected. Diane Tague is the lone candidate on the ballot for two three-year terms up for election. There is no official candidate for a one-year un-expired term.

Voters will decide a race for the Scotland County Board of Education. Incumbents Stacy Westhoff and Gary Miller are seeking re-election. Voters will fill those two seats from among four candidates. Also vying for the jobs are Christopher Yarbrough and Randall W. Tobler.

In the city of Memphis, voters will elect an east ward alderman for a two-year term. Lucas Remley, who was appointed to the council in 2008, is seeking election to the post. He is being challenged by Scott L. Goff.

Scotland County voters will be asked to reapprove the ½ cent sales tax for capital improvement projects for the county roads and bridges department. By law, the tax comes up for a vote every four years. This tax is not a new tax.

Voters in Rutledge and Arbela will be electing two trustees for the municipal governing boards. Karen Simpson and Gordon Wiley are seeking the seats in Arbela while Carol McCabe and Glada Shultz are on the Rutledge ballots.

Polls will open at 6:00 a.m. on Tuesday and will remain open for voting until 7:00 p.m. A copy of the official ballot may be found on Page 10.

Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » appearance » Widgets » and move a widget into Advertise Widget Zone