November 20, 2008

September Storms Land County Back on FEMA Major Disaster Aid List

WASHINGTON – The head of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security’s Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced on November 13th that federal disaster aid has been made available for the state of Missouri to help people and communities recover in the areas struck by severe storms, flooding, and a tornado during the period of September 11-24, 2008.

FEMA Administrator David Paulison said the assistance was authorized under a major disaster declaration issued for the state by President Bush. The President’s action makes federal funding available to affected individuals in Boone, Callaway, Chariton, Lewis, Lincoln, Linn, Marion, Osage, Schuyler, St. Charles, St. Louis, Stone, Taney, Texas, and Webster Counties and the Independent City of St. Louis.

The assistance, to be coordinated by FEMA, can include grants to help pay for temporary housing, home repairs and other serious disaster-related expenses. Low-interest loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration also will be available to cover residential and business losses not fully compensated by insurance.

Federal funding also is available to state and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organization on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by the severe storms, flooding, and a tornado in Adair, Audrain, Barry, Bollinger, Butler, Callaway, Cape Girardeau, Carter, Chariton, Christian, Clark, Crawford, Dent, Douglas, Dunklin, Howard, Howell, Knox, Lewis, Lincoln, Linn, Madison, Maries, Marion, Miller, New Madrid, Oregon, Ozark, Perry, Ralls, Ray, Reynolds, Ripley, Schuyler, Scotland, Scott, Shannon, Shelby, St. Genevieve, Stoddard, Stone, Sullivan, Taney, Texas, Wayne, Webster, and Wright counties. In addition, federal funding is available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures for all counties and Tribal nations statewide.

Paulison named Michael L. Karl as the Federal Coordinating Officer for federal recovery operations in the affected area. Karl said that damage surveys are continuing in other areas, and more counties and additional forms of assistance may be designated after the assessments are complete.

The agency said that residents and business owners who sustained losses in the designated counties can begin applying for assistance immediately by registering online at or by calling 1-800-621-FEMA(3362) or 1-800-462-7585 (TTY) for the hearing and speech impaired. The toll-free telephone numbers will operate from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. (local time) Monday through Sunday until further notice.

Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » appearance » Widgets » and move a widget into Advertise Widget Zone