September 18, 2008

Disaster Declaration Arrives Ahead of Latest Storms

WASHINGTON , D.C. – U.S. Senators Kit Bond and Claire McCaskill announced on September 7th that the President of the United States has extended Missouri ’s federal disaster declaration to include severe storms and flooding from June 1, 2008 to August 13, 2008.

“Mother nature has been very hard on many Missouri families, farmers and small businesses,” said Bond. “This extension is critical to helping struggling Missourians get back on their feet.”

“With so many Missouri families struggling to get back on their feet after this summer’s natural disasters, I’m thrilled the President decided to extend Missouri ’s disaster declaration to help as many Missourians as possible recover their homes and businesses,” said McCaskill.

The original disaster declaration by the President included the severe storms and flooding damaged that occurred between June 1, 2008 and July 18, 2008.

On August 8, 2008, Senators Bond and McCaskill asked the President to extend the disaster declaration to include the additional storms that have hit Missouri. The Senators stressed that federal help is essential to helping Missouri communities recover from the number of severe storms that have hit the state – from tornados to floods.

The federal disaster declaration extension will add Adair, Callaway, Chariton, Harrison, Knox, Monroe, Putnam, Randolph, Saline, Schuyler, Scotland and Worth counties as designated counties eligible to receive federal funds.

Previously Andrew, Cass, Clark, Gentry, Greene, Johnson, Holt, Lewis, Lincoln, Linn, Livingston, Marion, Nodaway, Pike, Ralls, St. Charles, Stone, Taney, Vernon and Webster Counties were eligible for emergency protective measures under the Public Assistance program.

Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » appearance » Widgets » and move a widget into Advertise Widget Zone