July 31, 2008

Candidates Seek to Secure Spots on November Ballot

Voters will head to the polls on Tuesday, August 5th with a pair of local races to decide while also lending a hand to help settle a number of contests at the state and national level.

The primary election will finalize the ballot for the November general election. Voters in Scotland County will select either a Republican, Democrat or Libertarian ballot on Tuesday. There are no local issues on the Libertarian ballot.

Republican voters will decide between James David Parker and Denis Clatt as their candidate for the eastern district commissioner seat being vacated by Winnie Hill.

That office is the lone local contested race on the Democrat ballot as well where four candidates are vying for their party’s nomination. Steve Snodgrass, Chris Montgomery, Charles E. “Chipper” Harris and Jason Moss are seeking the represent the Democrats on the November ballot for eastern district commissioner.

The Republican ballot will feature key races for Governor and U.S. Representative for the 9th District.

State Treasurer Sarah Steelman and 9th District U.S. Representative Kenny Hulshoff are the front runners for their party’s gubernatorial nod. Also on the ballot are Scott Long and Jennie Lee (Jen) Schwartze Sievers.

There are five candidates on the ballot seeking Hulshof’s former job. Rep. Bob Onder, Blaine Luetkemeyer and Brock Olivo all visited Scotland County during the campaign season. Also seeking the office are Dan Bishir and Danielle (Danie) Moore.

The U.S. House race is a key component on the Democrat ballot as well as four candidates battle for the nomination. Representative Judy Baker, Marion County Commissioner Lyndon Bode and former speaker of the House Steve Gaw all traveled to Memphis during the campaign. Former state senator Ken Jacob is the other candidate for the office.

Democrats have four-candidate races for both state treasurer and attorney general.

Margaret Donnelly, Jeff Harris and Chris Koster have engaged in a heated battle to replace gubernatorial candidate Jay Nixon as Missouri Attorney General. Also on the democrat ticket is Molly Williams.

With Steelman seeking the job of governor, the treasurer race also is a big ballot issue for democrats. The four candidates for the office are Mark Powell, Clint Zweifel, Andrea Simckes and Charles B. Wheeler.

Voters will also decide races on both tickets for lieutenant governor.

Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » appearance » Widgets » and move a widget into Advertise Widget Zone