April 10, 2008

Voters Retain Incumbents on SCR-I School Board

Both incumbents in the election for Scotland County R-I School Board fared well in the April 8th election.

Board president George Koontz headed the list of five candidates for three positions with a total of 578 votes. Fellow incumbent Paul Campbell was re-elected with 539 votes. Matt McKee won the third seat with a total of 550 votes. He will fill the vacancy of Scott Brassfield who did not seek re-election.

David E. Kirkpatrick received 415 votes and Chris Harris earned 372 votes in the five-person race.

Local voters supported the annexation proposal for the Wyaconda C-I district but it went down in dramatic fashion in Clark County, where the bulk of the school district lies.

Scotland County had nine votes in favor of annexing the district to the Gorin R-III School District to just five votes against the proposition.

But in Clark County, there were just 22 votes in favor of the issue compared to 121 no votes.

The failure of the ballot issue leaves the future of the Wyaconda C-I District up in the air pending further action by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education.

Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » appearance » Widgets » and move a widget into Advertise Widget Zone