April 10, 2008

William Reckenberg Captures Tight Race For Memphis Mayor

There were just two candidates on the ballot, but the election for Mayor of the City of Memphis was ultimately a three-horse race.

East Ward Alderman William Reckenberg won the contest by a nose, besting write-in candidate Thomas Wentworth by just 10 votes. Reckenberg received 189 votes (37.72%) to 179 votes for Wentworth (36.13%). Allen Garrett received 131 votes (26.15%).

Scotland County Clerk Betty Lodwegen reported light voter turnout overall for the April 8th election. Only 973 of the 3,205 registered voters in the county made it to the polls for a 30.36% voter turnout.

In a race of two incumbents, East Ward Alderman James David Parker retained his seat by edging Brian Brush by a vote of 150 to 99. Parker, who was appointed to the post after Brush resigned his seat to take a job overseas, earned 59.76% of the total vote.

In the west ward, incumbent Chris Feeney, was unopposed and received 243 of the 244 votes cast.

The city of Memphis proposition to change the position of city tax collector to an appointment as opposed to an elected position, failed by a vote of 216 for and 311 against. The city currently contracts with the county for all tax collection services, so there are no duties or salary for the post. But it will remain on the ballot every two years because the motion failed.

Scotland County voters once again showed strong support for the road and bridge department. The 31-cent special road and bridge tax levy was renewed for another four years by a more than three to one vote. A total of 749 votes were cast in favor of the proposition, which by law must be re-approved every four years, compared to 202 no votes.

In other municipal races, three members were elected to the Arbela board of trustees. Richard Stevenson received 11 votes with Sandra Remley getting 10 and Sheila Remley earning nine votes.

Two members were elected to the Granger board of trustees. Richard Byrn received nine votes and Tom Shannan earned eight. There were six write-in ballots cast.

In Gorin, Ervin Gene Berry was elected as west ward alderman with six votes. Five write-in ballots were cast. Brenda Jenkins earned the east ward alderman job with three votes. There were two write-in votes cast in that precinct.

Voters put three members on the Rutledge board of trustees. Gary See received 10 votes and David Herr and Wesley Weiler each garnered eight votes.

Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » appearance » Widgets » and move a widget into Advertise Widget Zone