March 27, 2008

Filing Frenzy Generates Busy Ballot For County Election

A filing frenzy at the end of the official period for candidates to declare for the August primary election helped swell the ranks of office seekers at the county level.

A total of seven candidates tossed their hat in the ring for the office of Eastern District Commissioner.

James Parker and Denis Clatt filed on the Republican ticket while voters will choose among five candidates during the Democratic primary including Jason Moss, Cecil Parsons, Chipper Harris, Chris Montgomery and Steve Snodgrass.

Incumbent Win Hill did not file for re-election.

Two other races will be decided by voters, but not until the November general election. Incumbent Wayne Winn filed on the Republican ticket for sheriff. He will be opposed by deputy Bryan Whitney, a Democrat.

Incumbent County Assessor Jim Ward, a Republican will be opposed by Democrat Jerry Grubb.

The three other county offices on the ballot have no opposition for incumbents, western district commissioner Paul Campbell, public administrator Ellen Aylward and coroner Ginny Monroe.

Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » appearance » Widgets » and move a widget into Advertise Widget Zone