January 31, 2008

Races Take Shape for April 8th Election as Filing Period Closes

With the election still months away, the ballots for the April 8th general municipal election took form last week when filing for the various city, school and administrative boards officially closed at the end of the business day on January 22nd.

There will be five candidates on the ballot for three positions on the Scotland County R-I Board of Education. Board president George Koontz refiled along with fellow incumbent Paul Campbell. Scott Brassfield did not seek re-election. Joining the two holdovers in the race for the three available three-year terms will be former board member David Kirkpatrick, Chris Harris and Matt McKee.

The Gorin R-III School District will not be on the ballot. Just three candidates filed for the three available three-year terms on the board of education, which by law means the district is not required to have the issue on the ballot as there is no opposition.

Ginger (Orton) Bass, Larry Mohr and Alicia Berry are the three candidates that filed for office.

In the City of Memphis, there will be races for two of three offices on the ballot. Mayor Roger Gosney did not refile for the office. East Ward Alderman William Reckenberg will seek the office along with Allen Garrett.

Two candidates filed for the east ward alderman job. Brian Brush, who was elected to the office in 2006, will seek re-election. He resigned the position last year when he went to work overseas. Jamie Parker, who was appointed to complete the term, also filed for the office.

Incumbent west ward alderman Chris Feeney was the lone candidate to file for the office.

All four other municipalities will be on the ballot despite having unopposed candidates.

Voters in Granger will elect two trustees for two-year terms. Tom Shannan and Richard Byrn filed for the offices.

Arbela will fill three two-year terms on the board of trustees. Candidates are Sandra Remley, Sheila Remley and Richard Stevenson.

Gorin has just one candidate for each of its two alderman openings. Irvin Gene Berry filed in the west ward and Brenda Jenkins signed up for the east ward opening.

Voters will elect three trustees to govern the community of Rutledge. Seeking two-year terms on the board of trustees are Wesley Weiler, David Herr and Gary See.

All ballots will feature a space for write-in candidates. But County Clerk Betty Lodewegen stressed that to be elected as a write-in, a candidate must officially file notice of a write-in candidacy in the county clerkís office no later than March 28th.

Like the Gorin School district, the local health agency elections will not be on the official ballot as there is no opposition filed in any of the races.

Incumbents Glen Lister and Kathy Miller filed for re-election to the Scotland County Care Center board of directors. Curtis Ebeling will seek re-election to the board of the Scotland County Memorial Hospital while Donald Harvey and Ronnie Tinkle refiled as directors of the Scotland County Ambulance District Board.



Please call or email { 660.465.7016 or chris@memphisdemocrat.com } with questions about advertising or to start advertising with Memphis Democrat today!

$4.50 per column inch
$4.50 per column inch (Classified)
$0.08 each for pre-printed mailer inserts
$0.12 per word for text only Classifieds

$20 for One Spot Color
$50 for Full-Color Process


per month for text only business directory ad.

$25 per month small ad
$35 per month medium ad
$50 per month large ad
$75 per month skyscraper ad
$125 per month top banner ad
$135 per month top banner ad

LARGE (300X250)
TOP BANNER AD¬†(728×60)
BANNER AD¬†(728×90)

small-ad-160x160md-ad-160x250lg-ad-300x250sky-ad-160x500top-ad-728x60 banner-ad-728x90

Your Name (required):

Your Email (required):

Ad Size:

Ad Content

If you have an image to include in your ad, browse to find the file.

Please enter the text you see in the field below, then click send.


Bb Server