October 11, 2007

VanderBeek Doubles Up In 2007 Finale at SCS

by Brian Neal

The 2007 racing season came to a close on October 6th, with night two of the 3rd Annual Pepsi Fall Nationals being put into the books at Pepsi-Cola Scotland County Speedway.

Zack VanderBeek (USRA Modifieds and USRA Stocks), Jeff Waterman (USRA B-Modifieds), Bill Gibson (USRA Hobby Stocks), Ben Moudry (Outlaw Hobby Stocks) and Bill Whalen (Hornets) each took the big paydays by claiming their feature wins.

The first feature of the night was the 12-lap Hornet feature, with Ryan Moore and Tyler Whalen leading the field to the green flag. Moore would take advantage of his front row starting spot to grab the lead on lap 1. Moore then held the top spot until lap 2, when Bill Whalen slipped by for the lead. Whalen then held off Dennis Allen on the final lap to pick up the feature win.

Luke Davidson was third. Jim Garrett was fourth, with Bill Young rounding out the top five.

Up next was the 18-lap Outlaw Hobby Stock feature, with Ben Moudry and Keith Reed drawing the front row for the event. Moudry moved out front on lap 1, with Reed and Rob Wilsey close behind. Moudry would hold the top spot until lap 5, when Wilsey jumped to his outside to edge him at the line for the lead. Disaster would strike Wilsey on lap 7, when he stopped in turn two with rear end troubles.

Moudry would inherit the lead back and then held off Brandon Symmonds on the final lap to pick up the win and the $600 top prize.

Jeff Soper would finish in third. Reed held on for fourth, with Tim Dawson coming from 16th to claim fifth.

Bill Gibson and Mike Shelton led the field to the drop of the green in the 18-lap USRA Hobby Stock feature, with Gibson taking the advantage to lead lap 1.

Gibson, Shelton and Jason McDaniel battled two- and three-wide for the lead, with McDaniel grabbing the top spot on lap 9 by inches. But Gibson would come back on the bottom of the speedway to get the lead back on lap 11.

Gibson then held off Jim Tull and McDaniel to claim the $600 top prize. Ryan Vicker came from 16th to finish in fourth, with Louis Lynch charging from 21st to round out the top five.

Up Next was the 30-lap USRA Modified feature, with Matt Dotson and Ron VerBeek drawing the front row. VerBeek would take advantage of his front row start to jump out into the lead on lap 1, with Mark Dotson close behind in second.

Dotson would slip under VerBeek on lap 5 to take over the top spot and then held it until lap 6, when Al Hejna jumped under him to take over the lead. Hejna then held on to the lead for the next five laps, when Friday nightís feature winner, Dean Mahlstedt jumped to his outside on lap 11 to take over the top spot.

While Mahlstedt and Hejna battled for the top spot, Zack VanderBeek, who started 17th, was closing in on the two.

VanderBeek would slip under Mahlstedt on lap 29 and then held him off on the final lap to take home the $2,000 payday.

Hejna settled for third. Tony Fraise was fourth, with Bruce Hanford charging from 20th to come home in fifth.

Jeff Waterman and Wyatt Lantz led the field to the green flag in the 18 lap USRA B-Modifieds feature, with Lantz moving out front on lap 1.

Lantz then held the lead until a lap 5 restart, when Tony Dunker got into the back of him and spun him, sending both drivers to the back. Waterman would inherit the lead and then held off Rob Carter in a shortened race to claim the $700 top prize.

Josh Larson came from 15th to finish in third. Jim Gillenwater started 13th and finished in fourth, with Lonnie Wyman Jr. coming from 16th to round out the top five.

The final feature of the night was the 20-lap USRA Stock Cars, with Tom Schmitt and Zack VanderBeek drawing the front row for the event.

Schmitt would take advantage of his front row start to move out front on lap 1, with VanderBeek close behind in second. Schmitt worked to hold off VanderBeek, but VanderBeek would slip under him on lap 11 to take over the top spot.

VanderBeek then pulled away over the final 9 laps to claim his second win on the night and the $1,000 paycheck.

Schmitt held on for second. Jason Cook was third. Matt Greiner was fourth, with Mike Van Genderen coming home in fifth.



Please call or email { 660.465.7016 or chris@memphisdemocrat.com } with questions about advertising or to start advertising with Memphis Democrat today!

$4.50 per column inch
$4.50 per column inch (Classified)
$0.08 each for pre-printed mailer inserts
$0.12 per word for text only Classifieds

$20 for One Spot Color
$50 for Full-Color Process


per month for text only business directory ad.

$25 per month small ad
$35 per month medium ad
$50 per month large ad
$75 per month skyscraper ad
$125 per month top banner ad
$135 per month top banner ad

LARGE (300X250)
TOP BANNER AD¬†(728×60)
BANNER AD¬†(728×90)

small-ad-160x160md-ad-160x250lg-ad-300x250sky-ad-160x500top-ad-728x60 banner-ad-728x90

Your Name (required):

Your Email (required):

Ad Size:

Ad Content

If you have an image to include in your ad, browse to find the file.

Please enter the text you see in the field below, then click send.


Bb Server