September 6, 2007

Track Champs Crowned After Season Finale Rained Out at SCS

by Brian Neal

MEMPHIS, Mo. — The Cunningham Fertilizer Season Championships, scheduled for Saturday, Aug. 25, at the Pepsi Scotland County Speedway, were canceled due to extremely wet conditions.

After a week of intermittent rain showers, officials still had hopes of getting Saturday’s show in. Friday morning, another band of thunderstorms was drenching communities from Missouri, through Iowa and into Illinois and Wisconsin. Most of Northern Missouri was under a flash flood watch through evening, with as much as eight inches of rain falling, the National Weather Service said. More moisture Saturday morning soaked any thoughts of getting the facility prepared for racing.

With the cancellation of the regular season finale, USRA Casey’s General Stores Weekly Racing Series track champions were declared in all classes.

Michael Long of Quincy, IL, captured his first-ever USRA Modified track title over Ankeny, Iowa’s Martin Bennett by 66 points. Defending track champion, Ryan Meyer of Liberty, IL, took the third spot, with Tony Fraise of Donnellson, IA, in fourth and Mt. Ayr, Iowa’s Dennis Elliott fifth. The rest of the final top-10 are Jody Wood, Bob Dale, Matt Greiner, David Snyder and Jerry Asher, respectively.

The USRA Stock Car track champion for 2007 is Matt Greiner of Washington, IA. Mark Holt of Memphis finished second with Troy Alexander of Memphis in third. Kale Foster of Quincy, IL, was fourth and Colt Mather of Webster, IA, rounded out the top five in points. Clell Evans, Zack VanderBeek, Butch Bailey, Kyle Chinn and Doug Huls complete the top-10.

Wyatt Lantz of Bowen, IL, locked up his first-ever USRA B-Mod track title at the Pepsi Scotland County Speedway. He beat rookie Adam Birck of Canton by 159 points for the crown, with Jeff Waterman of Quincy, IL, third. Jason Riegel of Memphis finished fourth and Keokuk, Iowa’s Jim Gillenwater settled for fifth in the final rankings. Sixth through 10th are Jared Fuller, Brian Clark, Josh Larson, Ron York and Larry Newman.

A heated title battle was in store for the USRA Hobby Stock division, where Mike Shelton of Ottumwa, IA, and Knoxville, Iowa’s Bill Gibson were separated by just 19 points. Shelton, however, gets the championship trophy while Gibson will settle for the runner-up spot despite six feature wins this season. Derek Kirkland of Centerville, IA, finished third in points, with Oskaloosa, IA’s Steve Allen fourth and Curtis Barnes of Greentop in fifth. Tim Kraber, Bob Lynch, Jason McDaniel, Robby Sands and Clayton Robbins round out the top-10.

Kahoka’s Jeff Soper captured the Outlaw Hobby title with just an eight-point advantage over Brandon Symmonds of Keokuk, IA. Rodger Dresden of Keokuk, IA, held off Donnellson, Iowa’s Jim Lynch for third, and defending track champion Beau Taylor of Canton claimed the fifth spot.

The rest of the top-10 spots go to Josh Soper, Larry Hooper, Tim Pettibone, Justin Hamelton and Brian Howerton.

Luke Davidson of Argyle, IA, secured his first Hornet title over J.D. Murphy of Cincinnati, IA. Defending track champion Andrew Hustead of Rutledge was third, with Ethen Hustead of Rutledge and Lew Aikman of Hannibal claiming the fourth and fifth positions. Brian Lemen, Jim Garrett, Dalton McCartney, Michael Grossman and Dale Porter finished sixth through 10th, respectively.

Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » appearance » Widgets » and move a widget into Advertise Widget Zone