August 2, 2007

Speedway Returns To Action Saturday with Special Ed Sheckler Memorial Race

By Brian Neal

Saturday nights were quiet in Memphis for the past two weekends, but the Pepsi Scotland County Speedway will roar back to life in August for a month of edge-of-your-seat barnburners before wrapping up the season with the 3rd Annual Memphis Fall Nationals, Oct. 11-13.

Racing at the 3/8-mile semi-banked clay oval will resume on Saturday, August 4, with the return of the O’Reilly Auto Parts United States Modified Touring Series for the Ed Sheckler Memorial presented by Pepsi. Also in action will be the USRA Casey’s General Stores Weekly Racing Series featuring USRA Stock Cars, USRA B-Mods, USRA Hobby Stocks, Outlaw Hobbys, Hornets and the debut of the Pro Hornet division.

While the Pepsi-sponsored O’Reilly USMTS Modified main event will pay $2,000 to win, extra money is also up for grabs in the other classes: $400 to win USRA Stock Cars - sponsored by Paul Lancaster; $400 to win USRA B-Mods - sponsored by Fuller Farms; $400 to win USRA Hobby Stocks - sponsor needed; $400 to win Outlaw Hobbys - sponsored by Brian’s Foundation Repair; $100 to win Hornets (11 or more cars); $100 to win Pro Hornets.

Ed Sheckler aided in the development of the USMS, which was started by his son, Doug, in 1994 and sold three years later to Todd and Janet Staley, who renamed it the USMTS. Sheckler also played an instrumental role in the success of the United States Racing Association (USRA), Pepsi Scotland County Speedway, Mountain Dew Bloomfield (Iowa) Speedway and the O’Reilly USMTS. Most importantly, his genuine respect and care for the drivers and fans that surrounded him was always evident. Ed came closer than anybody to dispelling the phrase ‘You can’t please all the people all the time.’

The O’Reilly USMTS has competed 20 times at the Pepsi Scotland County Speedway, with Kelly Shryock (6) and Jason Hughes (4) owning half of those wins. Other former winners include Al Hejna (3), Scott Megonigle (2), Mike Hejna, Dean Mahlstedt, Tommy Myer, Johnny Bone Jr. and Mike Spaulding, who won the first O’Reilly USMTS event at Memphis on Aug. 4, 2001.

The pit gate will open at 4:30 p.m. on Saturday, Aug. 4, and the grandstand gates will open at 5:00. Hot laps begin at 6:30 with racing to follow.

For more information, contact the RL Promotions offices at (515) 832-6000 or visit online. Race day info is available by calling the track hotline at (660) 465-8948.

Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » appearance » Widgets » and move a widget into Advertise Widget Zone