March 22, 2007

Scotland County Players, Coach Honored On All-District Teams

The 2007 Northeast Missouri All-District basketball teams were released March 20th with a number of local players earning recognition from the sportswriters and broadcasters association.

Scotland County coach Ryan Bergeson was named the Class 2 boys coach of the year. The second-year leader led the Tigers to a 16-10 record and the District 6 championship game.

Cody Musgrove was named to the Class 2 boys 1st team. He was joined on the top squad by Jon Gilliam and Joe Gilliam of Paris, David Fowler of Putnam County, Alex Bencomo of Clopton, Drew Ayers of Canton, Dennis Dent of Knox County and Allen Wright of Van-Far.

Two Tigers were named to the all-district second team. Seniors Matt Wickert and Bryce Blomme headed up the team that also consisted of Justin Ellison of Canton, William Ransdell of Paris, Reggie Dunkin and Torey Weston of Putnam County and Daniel McMahon of Knox County.

The class 2 girls coach of the year was Bobby Spoonster of Clopton. The first team consisted of Leanne Robison of Community R-6, Deaven Omohundro and Samantha Yates of Clopton, Danielle Caldwell and Lindsey Lillard of Canton, Emily Holt of Marceline and Brittany Casady of Putnam County. Second team members were Andrea Kleinsorge of Community R-6, Tanna Prenger and Jordan Ewigman of Marceline, Tori Niemann of Canton, Kirsten Johnston of Scotland County, Katie Steele of Putnam County and Alyse Brewer of Van-Far.

Mark Verticchio of Mark Twain was named the girls Class 3 coach of the year.

The first team members were Courtney Shuman and Amanda Winters of Clark County, Erin Mayes of South Shelby, Kaylyn Franke of Mark Twain, Dalyn Collins of Brookfield and Sam O’Brien of Palmyra. Second team members were Anne Marie Hartung of Bowling Green, Jess Stuart of Mark Twain, Jenna Mueller of South Shelby, Shawna Kriegshauser of Highland, Laura Williams of Monroe City, Amelia Keller of Palmyra and Tahnee Poe of Schuyler County.

Class 3 boys coach of the year was Trevor Hibbs of Bowling Green.

First team honorees were Tyler Belt of Macon, Andy Anders and Curtis Smith of Highland, Brandon McCann of Bowling Green, Jacob Winkler of Schuyler County and Jonas McBride of Mark Twain. Second team members were Adam Coleman and Ben Hartung of Bowling Green, Carrington Daniel of Clark County, John Mims of Highland, Jonathon Nutt of Palmyra, Alex Clawson of Brookfield, Bryce Johnston of South Shelby and Paul Hancock of Monroe City.

The Class 1 girls coach of the year was Bobby Sangster of Green City.

The first team consisted of Ashley Fleming and Rebecca Lipsey of Silex, Chelsea Rouse and Cloe Phillips of Green City, Katelyn Brawner of Novinger, Taylor Spratt of Marion County and Tristen Wilson of Bevier.

Second team members were Whitney Bennett of Linn County, Anna Grgurich of Novinger, Kimberly Elsea and Hailee Kelsey of Brashear, Valerie Teter of Bevier, Becky Rouse of Green City and Maggie Hastings of Marion County.

The Class 1 boys coach of the year was David Fouch of LaPlata.

The first team was made up of David Fouch and Matt Fouch of LaPlata, Matt Ayers of Green City, Josey Garnett of Atlanta, Nathan Meyers of Marion County, Kary Jennings of Bevier, Wes Allnutt of Linn County and Ronnie Martin of Silex.

Second team members were Joey Pate of Macon County R-4, Jerry Tarver of Green City, Dusty Baker of LaPlata, Brad Eisenbath of Silex, Justin Bevill and Landon Daniel of North Shelby and Brandon Salmons of Madison.

Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » appearance » Widgets » and move a widget into Advertise Widget Zone