March 15, 2007

SCR-I Tigers Dominate Tri-Rivers Conference Post Season Awards

Its first conference title in nearly a decade helped the Scotland County boys basketball team bring home a number of post-season honors when the Tri-Rivers Conference announced its award winners last week.

The Tigers laid claim to both of the league’s top honors after finishing with a perfect 7-0 mark in conference play.

In just his second year at the helm, Ryan Beregson was named the Tri-Rivers Conference Coach of the Year. Overall, Bergeson led the team to a 16-10 record and made it to the Class 2 District 6 championship game. The Tigers improved from a 7-18 last year.

Junior Cody Musgrove was named the league’s co-most valuable player along with Putnam County’s David Fowler.

Musgrove earned first team all-conference honors after leading the Tigers with 15.8 points per game and 9.4 rebounds.

Joining Musgrove and Fowler on the first team was unanimous selection Jacob Winkler of Schuyler County along with Brookfield’s Alex Clawson and Knox County’s Dennis Dent. Clawson and Fowler are seniors while Dent and Winkler are both just sophomores.

Just missing out on the top honors were a pair of Scotland County players. Matt Wickert and Bryce Blomme headed up the list of second team winners as the sixth and seventh highest vote earners.

Wickert averaged 13.0 points and 6.5 rebounds per game despite playing out of position all year at the four spot. The senior averaged nearly three assists and two steals per contest as well and shot a team-high 130 free throws.

Bryce Blomme earned second team honors by posting a 13.9 scoring average in 26 games. He handled the point guard duties and dished out 5.5 assists while also getting it done on defense with 2.2 steals per contest.

Other second team award winners were:

Reggie Dunkin and Torey Weston of Putnam County; Landon Daniel and Justin Bevill of North Shelby; Michael Brennan, Carrington Daniel and Colt Sommers of Clark County, Daniel McMahon of Knox County; Logan Hill of Milan and Chandler Gall of Brookfield.

Grant Blomme of Scotland County was named honorable mention all-conference. He was the team’s defensive stopper, drawing the duty of guarding the opponent’s top scorer. But the senior also averaged 10.5 points a game and made a team-best 27 three pointers on the year.

Other honorable mention winners were Tyler Green and Logan Shively of Schuyler County, Jesse Hinkle of Putnam County and Michael Stoneburner of North Shleby.

Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » appearance » Widgets » and move a widget into Advertise Widget Zone