July 5, 2007

Seventh Annual Scotland County Relay For Life Raises More Than $23,000

The seventh annual American Cancer Society Relay For Life of Scotland County was held on June 15th and 16th. Prior to the opening ceremony, a survivor reception was held at the VFW, where visiting, music and refreshments were provided. Following the singing of the National Anthem by Schelle Cooley and presentation of the Colors by the VFW Post #4958, 60 survivors participated in the opening laps of the Relay. Survivor Beverly Krouse shared her cancer story with the crowd, followed by the presentation of the Hero of Hope Awards to Elizabeth McClamroch and Chris Tinkle.

As teams were introduced, Fundraising Club signs were presented to eligible teams. The Scotland County Care Center team ďThe Dough BoysĒ reached the Platinum level again this year, raising $10,000 or more. The No Payne No Gain A Team reached the Silver level before the closing ceremony, by turning in $3,000 or more, and Ladies On A Mission earned the bronze level by turning in $1,500 or more. Toni Troutman received a shirt for the $1,000 club, by raising over $1,000 herself. Other teams participating in the Relay this year were No Payne No Gain B Team, FFA, FCCLA, United Methodist Church Faithful D.O.G.S., and Pamida.

A variety of entertainment, food and games followed throughout the evening. The Luminary Ceremony was held at 9:00 p.m. with the lighting of 603 luminaries.

Team games were held throughout the night, with breakfast available to team members at 5:00 a.m. Saturday morning. The closing ceremony was held at 6:30 a.m. with participation plaques handed out to all teams. Plaques were also given for most laps walked, best camp-sight, and the heart of Relay.

A total of $23,295.68 has been raised so far this year, by the teams, committee fundraisers, sponsorship and luminary sales, and donations by the community and service organizations.

Committee members for this year were co-chairs Beverly Moore and Leslie Troutman; survivors chairs Chris Tinkle and Tamara Knupp; entertainment chair Cathy Campbell; luminary chairs Leslie Troutman and Michael Moore; mission chair Beverly Krouse; and treasurer Kathy Gardner.

The generosity of everyone involved, whether itís a team, the public, or committee member is greatly appreciated.



Please call or email { 660.465.7016 or chris@memphisdemocrat.com } with questions about advertising or to start advertising with Memphis Democrat today!

$4.50 per column inch
$4.50 per column inch (Classified)
$0.08 each for pre-printed mailer inserts
$0.12 per word for text only Classifieds

$20 for One Spot Color
$50 for Full-Color Process


per month for text only business directory ad.

$25 per month small ad
$35 per month medium ad
$50 per month large ad
$75 per month skyscraper ad
$125 per month top banner ad
$135 per month top banner ad

LARGE (300X250)
TOP BANNER AD¬†(728×60)
BANNER AD¬†(728×90)

small-ad-160x160md-ad-160x250lg-ad-300x250sky-ad-160x500top-ad-728x60 banner-ad-728x90

Your Name (required):

Your Email (required):

Ad Size:

Ad Content

If you have an image to include in your ad, browse to find the file.

Please enter the text you see in the field below, then click send.


Bb Server