April 19, 2007

New Board of Education Members Sworn In

The April 12th meeting of the Scotland County R-I Board of Education opened with the certification of votes from the recent election and the swearing in of the two new members elected to board.

William Cottrell, Jr., and Stacy Alexander were administered the oath of office and will serve on the board for a three-year term to run through April 2010.

Following the addition of the new members, the board elected officers for the coming year. George Koontz will remain as board president. Paul Campbell will serve as vice president while Gary Miller serves as secretary and Scott Brassfield serves as treasurer.

Basement Bids

The board handled a relatively light agenda. Koontz appointed a committee of Miller, Brassfield and Alexander to receive and review all bids for the concrete service for the basement of the 2007-08 building trades home. The group will meet April 23rd to perform this task.

Career Ladder

Career Ladder committee chairperson Lori Fulk met with the board to seek continuation of the districtís participation in the program that provided financial reimbursement for participating educators that offer extended services to the students.

The program offers three levels of participation based on the teacherís years of experience as well as the amount of extra service. Fulk reported there are three teachers at SCR-I eligible for stage 1, seven teachers set for stage II and 25 that will be qualified for stage III.

The board voted 7-0 to continue with the program.

A similar vote of the board allowed teacher Jamie Hicks to advance to stage II of the program. Under the programís guidelines, an instructor with at least seven years experience can qualify for the advancement. Hicks will be entering her eighth year as an instructor.

Salary Committee

Koontz appointed Campbell, Westhoff and himself to serve on the boardís salary committee for reviewing staff and faculty pay.


The board voted 7-0 to continue to allow student participation in the Lawrence E. Smith Student Accident Insurance program. The coverage and rates will remain unchanged from the previous year.


The board received a letter of resignation from PE instructor and coach Doug Baker. FFA advisor and ag instructor Leroy Corder also informed the board he will not be returning next year.

Executive Session

In executive session the board voted 7-0 to offer employment to Corey Stott and Cassandra Whitlock for the 2007-08 year to fill the vo-ag and FFA positions. The board also voted 7-0 to offer the temporary summer secretary position to Kayla Ebeling.

Special Meeting

The board set a special meeting for Monday, April 16th to review the interview committeeís recommendations for hiring the new elementary school principal.

Early Meeting

In an effort to allow board members to attend the annual FFA banquet scheduled for the same night, the regularly scheduled May 10th meeting will start at 5:00 p.m. instead of 6:30 p.m.



Please call or email { 660.465.7016 or chris@memphisdemocrat.com } with questions about advertising or to start advertising with Memphis Democrat today!

$4.50 per column inch
$4.50 per column inch (Classified)
$0.08 each for pre-printed mailer inserts
$0.12 per word for text only Classifieds

$20 for One Spot Color
$50 for Full-Color Process


per month for text only business directory ad.

$25 per month small ad
$35 per month medium ad
$50 per month large ad
$75 per month skyscraper ad
$125 per month top banner ad
$135 per month top banner ad

LARGE (300X250)
TOP BANNER AD¬†(728×60)
BANNER AD¬†(728×90)

small-ad-160x160md-ad-160x250lg-ad-300x250sky-ad-160x500top-ad-728x60 banner-ad-728x90

Your Name (required):

Your Email (required):

Ad Size:

Ad Content

If you have an image to include in your ad, browse to find the file.

Please enter the text you see in the field below, then click send.


Bb Server