April 19, 2007

Fair Board Elects New Officers

Two longtime officers on the Scotland County Fair Board were replaced at the group’s April 11 meeting as the organization installed a new slate of officers.

Treasurer Tammie Dale had previously announced her resignation from the board. President Phil Aylward also announced he would not seek re-election to the post.

The board elected Tom Pieper as the new fair board president. David Jackson was named vice president with Dana Hauk continuing to serve as secretary. Fair board members are Phil Aylward, Ryan Clark, Kevin Eggleston, Stanley Carter and Scott Aylward. Anyone interested in joining the fair board may contact any of these members or officers.

Emily Mauck was named treasurer pro tem until a fair board member can be found to take over the post. All fair board correspondence can be sent to Mauck at RR 2 Box 40, Memphis, MO 63555.

The fair board agreed to host the Liebling Brothers Family Circus at the fairgrounds on Friday, May 25th with shows at 4:00 p.m. and 7:00 p.m.

The group also discussed the fair rodeo set for June 20th. Organizers are still seeking sponsors for the event, including shoot and banner sponsors. For more information contact Pieper or Scott Aylward.

Jackson announced that Farm Bureau will host a benefit Texas Hold’em Tournament during the fair on Saturday, June 23rd.

The board is asking anyone interested in placing a picture on the Memories of the Fair quilt to contact Hauk.

Eggleston was placed in charge of collecting the rent for the racetrack.

Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » appearance » Widgets » and move a widget into Advertise Widget Zone